Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Recommended Posts

Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
 
Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.
 
What's your ruling?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Pitcher was off the plate and threw overhand. Certainly not a pitch.

Due to all the conversations everybody in the park knew it was an appeal, including the umpire.

Batter out for interference with a throw.

An appeal isn't a play so the appeal can still be made.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
  Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
No timeout should be called unless the catcher is seriously hurt. Otherwise, it's catcher's obstruction and you play on. It is an illegal pitch, but it's a delayed dead ball and can be hit.
If all runners advanced one base safely and runner reaches first, the result stands. Otherwise, the coach can choose to award the batter with a ball and advance the runners one base or take the result of the play, which would be catcher's obstruction.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pitcher was off the plate and threw overhand. Certainly not a pitch.
Due to all the conversations everybody in the park knew it was an appeal, including the umpire.
Batter out for interference with a throw.
An appeal isn't a play so the appeal can still be made.
It's an illegal pitch, a delayed dead ball, and can be hit.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Jakester5112 said:

No timeout should be called unless the catcher is seriously hurt. Otherwise, it's catcher's obstruction and you play on. It is an illegal pitch, but it's a delayed dead ball and can be hit.
If all runners advanced one base safely and runner reaches first, the result stands. Otherwise, the coach can choose to award the batter with a ball and advance the runners one base or take the result of the play, which would be catcher's obstruction.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
 

I’m not familiar with softball rules, but that does not sound right for baseball. If you step off the rubber and are attempting to make an appeal, it’s certianly not an illegal pitch and the onus is on the batter to not swing and interfere

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I’m not familiar with softball rules, but that does not sound right for baseball. If you step off the rubber and are attempting to make an appeal, it’s certianly not an illegal pitch and the onus is on the batter to not swing and interfere
You are right. I missed the part about them trying for the appeal. Also, if they legally step off, there isn't an illegal pitch.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

Pitcher was off the plate and threw overhand. Certainly not a pitch.

Due to all the conversations everybody in the park knew it was an appeal, including the umpire.

Batter out for interference with a throw.

An appeal isn't a play so the appeal can still be made.

This is how we ruled but were overturned during protest.

Which rule do you think is most pertinent?


6.06 - A batter is out for illegal action when -

(c) interfering with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by:
(1) stepping out of the batter’s box, or;
(2) making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s actions at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or;
(3) failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home plate and there is time for the batter to move away.

7.09 - It is interference by a batter or a runner when -
(a) the batter hinders the catcher in an attempt to field the ball;

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, basejester said:

This is how we ruled but were overturned during protest.

Which rule do you think is most pertinent?


6.06 - A batter is out for illegal action when -

(c) interfering with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by:
(1) stepping out of the batter’s box, or;
(2) making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s actions at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or;
(3) failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home plate and there is time for the batter to move away.

7.09 - It is interference by a batter or a runner when -
(a) the batter hinders the catcher in an attempt to field the ball;

 

I would go with either 6.06c or 7.09a

The others that you listed wouldn't apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, BT_Blue said:

I would go with either 6.06c or 7.09a

The others that you listed wouldn't apply.

Those are the only two I listed.  I mean 6.06(c) (2) specifically.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, basejester said:

Those are the only two I listed.  I mean 6.06(c) (2) specifically.

 

I would lean more on 6.06c(2). Feels like that is more in line with what you are trying to get.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, basejester said:

This is how we ruled but were overturned during protest.

 

 

Why? What did they say?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

Why? What did they say?

This only went as high as my DA.  His argument was that, as the appeal had not yet been formally verbalized, nothing of consequence was hindered.  So, do-over.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, basejester said:

This only went as high as my DA.  His argument was that, as the appeal had not yet been formally verbalized, nothing of consequence was hindered.  So, do-over.

 

 

It doesn't have to be formally verbalized. It just has to be obvious.  Ask him it he's ever see a "doubled off" appeal formally verbalized.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All this nonsense...just allow the damn verbal appeal in the rules. What's the point of all this useless wailing and gnashing of teeth? "Sir, we want to appeal that he missed the base". "You're correct, he's out". Done. No more pointless Kabuki Theater, just ask what you're trying to ask and let's move on with life.
 

/rant

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, scrounge said:

All this nonsense...just allow the damn verbal appeal in the rules. What's the point of all this useless wailing and gnashing of teeth? "Sir, we want to appeal that he missed the base". "You're correct, he's out". Done. No more pointless Kabuki Theater, just ask what you're trying to ask and let's move on with life.
 

/rant

Because the rules also allow the offense to make a move that kills the appeal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, basejester said:

This only went as high as my DA.  His argument was that, as the appeal had not yet been formally verbalized, nothing of consequence was hindered.  So, do-over.

 

 

So do-over the appeal process?  If coaches yelling and instructing how to appeal isn't obvious enough, I don't know what is, and obviously neither does your DA!  I'm just curious. If there wasn't a pitch, how could it be batter INT?  Wouldn't it fall under INT by a team member?  Or something like that?  Allow DB appeals in lower levels and get rid of the BS!  LL girls SB?  Sorry, disregard this post:mad:

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Tborze said:

So do-over the appeal process?  If coaches yelling and instructing how to appeal isn't obvious enough, I don't know what is, and obviously neither does your DA!  I'm just curious. If there wasn't a pitch, how could it be batter INT?  Wouldn't it fall under INT by a team member?  Or something like that?  Allow DB appeals in lower levels and get rid of the BS!  LL girls SB?  Sorry, disregard this post:mad:

 

They had not lost the right to appeal.

It's entirely possible that the yelling of instructions was lost in translation.  I did not speak with the DA over the phone.

Why do you think a pitch is necessary for batter INT?  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Tborze said:

 If there wasn't a pitch, how could it be batter INT?  

The player that interfered was the batter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sry, please disregard that!  I don't know what I was thinking, was a looong day. 

@basejester so, the pitcher steps off the rubber and throws to the catcher to appeal a runner missing HP. The batter swings at the throw and interferes. So because there seemed to be no verbal appeal recognized, there was nothing to INT with, so do-over.  As @Rich Ives mentioned an appeal is not a play, is that why 6.06c (2) doesn't apply?  Because there was no PLAY being made on a runner?

In LL, if the offense initiates a play, does the defense lose its right to appeal?  How would we rule in FED

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Tborze said:

Sry, please disregard that!  I don't know what I was thinking, was a looong day. 

@basejester so, the pitcher steps off the rubber and throws to the catcher to appeal a runner missing HP. The batter swings at the throw and interferes. So because there seemed to be no verbal appeal recognized, there was nothing to INT with, so do-over.  As @Rich Ives mentioned an appeal is not a play, is that why 6.06c (2) doesn't apply?  Because there was no PLAY being made on a runner?

In LL, if the offense initiates a play, does the defense lose its right to appeal? YES.

How would we rule in FED. Appeal still allowed.

. Interspaced .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

Because the rules also allow the offense to make a move that kills the appeal.

Meh, so what. Don't give the defense a reason to appeal if you don't like it. Useless waste of time IMO, that people will get nostalgic about like the pitching 4 balls for an intentional walk, and then promptly forget that the requirement ever existed once it's gone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, scrounge said:

Meh, so what. Don't give the defense a reason to appeal if you don't like it. Useless waste of time IMO, that people will get nostalgic about like the pitching 4 balls for an intentional walk, and then promptly forget that the requirement ever existed once it's gone.

I don't exactly know why people in the Fed world haven't started doing this, but what's to stop the defense from saying, after every play, "I'd like to appeal each of the runners missed each of the bases," to the point that runners are essentially out as soon as the umpire noticed the miss (like that one crazy state does).   Maybe that's OK with people?  It's certainly not traditional.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, basejester said:

I don't exactly know why people in the Fed world haven't started doing this, but what's to stop the defense from saying, after every play, "I'd like to appeal each of the runners missed each of the bases," to the point that runners are essentially out as soon as the umpire noticed the miss (like that one crazy state does).   Maybe that's OK with people?  It's certainly not traditional.  

Because of 8-2-6f:

f. More Than One Appeal. Multiple appeals are permitted as long as they do not become a travesty of the game.

Appealing "everything at once every play" falls into that latter category.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, basejester said:

I don't exactly know why people in the Fed world haven't started doing this, but what's to stop the defense from saying, after every play, "I'd like to appeal each of the runners missed each of the bases," to the point that runners are essentially out as soon as the umpire noticed the miss (like that one crazy state does).   Maybe that's OK with people?  It's certainly not traditional.  

What's to stop an OBR team from just continually throwing over? Similar rule as @kylehutson just pointed out. If people want to make it a circus, the method of the appeal isn't really the distinguishing issue.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does Little League Softball not allow verbal appeals?   Or did it not meet the threshold of a verbal appeal?

For Softball Canada...and I think ASA...the actions you described in the OP would have likely been taken as a verbal appeal.

This is the rule from International play - Official Rules of Softball:

DEAD BALL APPEAL. Once the ball has been returned to the infield and "Time" has been called, or the ball becomes dead, any defensive team member in the infield, with or without possession of the ball, may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base, or leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball. The administering umpire should acknowledge the appeal, and then make a decision on the play. No runner may leave his base during this period, as the ball remains dead until the next pitch

EXCEPTION: A runner who has left a base too soon on a caught fly ball, or who has missed a base, may attempt to return to such base while the ball is dead.

NOTE: (a)If the ball goes out of play, the dead ball appeal cannot be made until the plate umpire places a new ball into the game.

(b) If the pitcher has possession of the ball and is in contact with the pitching plate when making a verbal appeal, no Illegal Pitch is called.

(c) If the umpire has declared “Play Ball” and the pitcher then requests an appeal, the umpire would again call “Time” and allow the appeal process.

I believe, also, the coach can request the verbal appeal during the dead ball, but must be on the field - not on the bench.

Unless LL Softball has rewritten this rule for their set, this should have been ruled on before the ball was made live, no?   Or, after it became clear the pitcher was appealing, call time to allow the appeal process.

I think the DA got it wrong two ways.

Not only in overruling your decision, but...

IF he did declare this a non-appeal, then you have an illegal pitch, with catcher's interference, not a do over.   The appeal is lost.

 

As well, any softball rule set I've coached would have just allowed any player with the ball to go touch the plate during the dead ball for a proper appeal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Similar Content

    • By johnnyg08
      R2 (stealing), R3 (not stealing)
      Batter squares to bunt and hits the catcher's mitt while trying to bunt the pitch. The plate umpire correctly calls interference on the catcher. The pitch is fouled off out of play. The umpire begins to enforce the penalty.
      Without wondering why R3 isn't stealing, but R2 is stealing state the proper enforcement below. Feel free to cite any applicable case plays, rule citations, etc...
       
       
    • By jms1425
       
      Stumbled across this video that was posted 11 years ago (YouTube is that old??).... My initial thought was that F1 is no longer protected after the ball hit him and bounced away by more than "a step and a reach", thus this would be obstruction on F1, so BR gets 1st.
      Thoughts?
       
       
       
    • By MTUmp109
      Tonight I had R2 going to third on a hit ball. R2 slides into 3rd.. As the 3rd base man fakes a tag. 3rd base did not have the ball. But in my opinion R2 was going to slide anyways because his coach was yelling down down down.. BUT Little League Definition of Obstruction is :
      “OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. A fake tag is considered obstruction. (NOTE: Obstruction shall be called on a defensive player who blocks off a base, base line or home plate from a base runner while not in possession of the ball.)”
      SO should I have called it and gave him home plate?
    • By Mad Mike
      How would you handle this?
      NFHS
      Bases Loaded, 2 outs, high pop fly to short-stop. Runners going on contact. R2 clips shortstop. Umpire rules interference; however, R3 had crossed plate before interference was called. 
      I have a group that is giving different answers: Timing Play (score the run), R2 forced to advance and interferes (thus treat as force out on the interfering runner) no run scores, or no run can score on interference-ball is dead--call interfering runner out, inning over with no runs scoring. If there were less than 2 out, return all runners TOP--call interfering runner out, BR goes to first.
      What is the best rule reference for this situation?
×