Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Dennis

Ball and strikes

Question

9 answers to this question

Never say high or low.

It use to be to never say in or out -- sometimes you could indicate it with a brief head motion.

Now, it's more acceptable -- and some use it more than others.

As always, check your local listings for what is "right" in your area.

• Like 1

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

From the bench - where you get most of your complaints - high and low are easy to see.   It's not easy to see in our out...especially out.  As a coach, I liked hearing "no, outside".   If you think it will go towards game management, do it and continue it.  If all it does is gives a coach something to argue about, stop.

I guess I understand why you can't see in and out from the bench by following the ball, depth perception being less easy to decipher than seeing where the ball crossed the batter in the foreground or background - when I'm most likely to get upset is when my catchers glove is in the strike zone and doesn't move.

21 minutes ago, isired said:

I guess I understand why you can't see in and out from the bench by following the ball, depth perception being less easy to decipher than seeing where the ball crossed the batter in the foreground or background - when I'm most likely to get upset is when my catchers glove is in the strike zone and doesn't move.

To the same point. You cannot tell from the bench if your catcher's mitt is set up on the plate or 6 inches off the edge. Sticking the pitch on the other batters box line isn't a strike. Pet peeve if many umpires.....setting up off the corner, sticking it and holding the glove there off the plate.