Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
stl_ump

Base coach interference?

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
4 minutes ago, stl_ump said:

Happen to have a rule reference?

OBR 6.01(b).

Quote

The players, coaches or any member of a team at bat shall vacate any space (including both dugouts or bullpens) needed by a fielder who is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball. If a member of the team at bat (other than a runner) hinders a fielder’s attempt to catch or field a batted ball, the ball is dead, the batter is declared out and all runners return to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch.

There's a case play in 6.01(d) that seems to make the standard "doing all he can" to avoid interfering, which makes intent relevant. The bar for INT is lower for hindering a fielder than for hindering a thrown ball: on the batted ball, that coach has nothing better to do at that moment than get out of the fielder's way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, stl_ump said:

Happen to have a rule reference?

Thanks

 

Even if you don't know where the rule is in the book, the phrase "vacate any space" should be something any trained umpire would know about and be able to quote when calling a coach for INT.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2018 Official Baseball Rule 6.01(d) Comment 

PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference.

And here’s how the 2010 Jaksa/Roder manual describes coach’s interference:

“It is interference if a base coach…blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder’s try to field a fair or catchable batted ball or thrown ball. A coach must try to avoid a fielder trying to field. If he tries to avoid, but contacts a fielder, it is not interference. In most cases, a coach who does not try to avoid contact with a fielder will have interfered.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

One never knows . . .

F3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Me

.

.

.

. . . . . . . . .  X   (Where the fly ball will land)

 

LL Majors. 

F3 ran into me.

 

 

 

I'm definitely getting an out with you coach. :stir

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

I'm definitely getting an out with you coach. :stir

 

6 hours ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

I'm definitely getting an out with you coach. :stir

Dillsburg is a rest stop on our way to/from DC  for visits with the son.  (Usually the Arby's on 15)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×