Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest James

Play at the plate

Question

Guest James

Ball 4 and the ball gets past the Catcher. The batter stays in the box and the runner at 3rd comes home. When the ball is retrieved bu the catcher and tossed to the pitcher to try to make the play at home the runner then starts to run and is struck with the ball. Is there interference by the batter on the play? What would the call be?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The batter is now a BR.  A runner is out for INT with a throw only if it's intentional.  Standing in the box for any length of time after ball 4 probably rises to that level.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
36 minutes ago, noumpere said:

The batter is now a BR.  A runner is out for INT with a throw only if it's intentional.  Standing in the box for any length of time after ball 4 probably rises to that level.

... depending on the age/experience of the players.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 minute ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

damn @maven, I saw "depending"...........and thought you were going to say day game or night game.

It's the "Ask the Umpire" forum, and we're not supposed to make fun. Also, the question is reasonable enough.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×