Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest George

Umpire interference?

Question

Guest George

2 umpire college wood bat summer league game. Runner on 2nd base.  Batter hits a popup toward 2nd base.  Runner stays put, shortstop collides with the base umpire in front of 2nd base, 2nd baseman catches then drops the ball in front of 2nd base.  What is the correct call?

 

(Actual call: dead ball and handled as if the pitch were never made, batter returned to the plate with same pitch and out count, this does not sound right to me)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 minute ago, Guest George said:

2 umpire college wood bat summer league game. Runner on 2nd base.  Batter hits a popup toward 2nd base.  Runner stays put, shortstop collides with the base umpire in front of 2nd base, 2nd baseman catches then drops the ball in front of 2nd base.  What is the correct call?

 

(Actual call: dead ball and handled as if the pitch were never made, batter returned to the plate with same pitch and out count, this does not sound right to me)

The correct call?  "I'm an idiot.  Play on..."

A fielder running into an umpire is nothing.  Don't look up, look at the fielders - they'll take you to the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Just now, grayhawk said:

The correct call?  "I'm an idiot.  Play on..."
 

Disagree. The correct call is: no catch. Even more so given that F6 collided with BU, but F4 dropped the ball!

:cool: 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Another board has more than one umpire trying to use umpire judgement to correct umpire obstruction, interference or incompetence when it affects play. The urge exists out there, even among college (?) level umps. No protest and you get to reap what they sow. Except there is less chance of incompetence among the umpires who know when they are part of the field. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It seems as though Maven's subtle remark was missed.  Read the OP slowly.

F6 (SHORTSTOP) collided with BU

F4 (2nd BASEMAN) dropped the ball.

Trying to get anything out of this is akin to trying to smell the color 9.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 hours ago, Guest George said:

2 umpire college wood bat summer league game. Runner on 2nd base.  Batter hits a popup toward 2nd base.  Runner stays put, shortstop collides with the base umpire in front of 2nd base, 2nd baseman catches then drops the ball in front of 2nd base.  What is the correct call?

 

Did F4 really catch the ball and then drop it?  That's an out.

More likely, you meant it as Maven (and others) interpreted it -- but we shouldn't use the word "catch" here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest George
11 hours ago, noumpere said:

Did F4 really catch the ball and then drop it?  That's an out.

More likely, you meant it as Maven (and others) interpreted it -- but we shouldn't use the word "catch" here.

Thank you.  The ball was not caught, it bounced out of F4's glove.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 hours ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

Trying to get anything out of this is akin to trying to smell the color 9.

 

 

For those of us with synesthesia, that's doable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×