Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Nathan

Called out or safe

Question

Guest Nathan

If a player is advancing to a base and the fielder makes the tag and the runner is immediately called out upon the original tag.  During the slide the ball is dislodged from the "taggers" glove into the air.  If another fielder catches or secures the ball before it touches the ground is the runner still out?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Disregarding a too quick "out" call, the fielder who made the tag must keep the ball in his glove securely. Unless the other fielder was able to tag the runner and also gain possession, sounds like safe to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

I agree with @Gfoley4 on this.  It sounds like what you are thinking of is the criteria for a catch from a batted ball.  In order for a tag to result in an out, the fielder's release of the ball immediately after the tag must be an intentional, voluntary release.  If it is knocked out of the glove by the offensive player (barring any intentional attempt to dislodge the ball), then the runner is safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×