Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Delaine33

Fly out/tag ups

Question

Guest Delaine33

New to the sport here..... question is if a batter hits a fly ball that is caught and the base runner forgets to tag up and the fielder throws to the original runner's base before the return to tag up, does the fielder at the base have to tag only the base or the runner to get the out?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

just the base

the runner is put out on appeal for his failure to retouch after the catch

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
22 minutes ago, stkjock said:

just the base

the runner is put out on appeal for his failure to retouch after the catch fielder touches a batted ball that is caught.

 

FIFY. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
13 minutes ago, maven said:

FIFY. ;)

I gave the 3rd grade answer, you getting all fancy with the HS explanation will confuse the laypersons... :D 

 

:cheers:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 minutes ago, stkjock said:

I gave the 3rd grade answer, you getting all fancy with the HS explanation will confuse the laypersons... :D 

Right, but then we get coaches/parents of a third grade game asking us, “So our left fielder bobbled a fly ball, and the shortstop kept it from hitting the ground. The umpire called Catch, but why wasn’t the kid on 3rd out for leaving early?”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest Delaine33 said:

New to the sport here..... question is if a batter hits a fly ball that is caught and the base runner forgets to tag up and the fielder throws to the original runner's base before the return to tag up, does the fielder at the base have to tag only the base or the runner to get the out?

To clarify - the fielder can touch EITHER the base or the runner.

Believe it or not I've had people argue this point.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×