Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Edwin F

Pitching Change

Question

Guest Edwin F

I have a question on a Pitching Change Rule.  The league I work for has a no reentry rule on any position.  The umpire for the game receives the official line-up card.  The Starting Pitcher listed (for example) is Peter.  When the team takes the field, the pitcher on the mound is Paul.  The umpire then informs the Manager that Peter is listed as the Starting Pitcher but Paul started the game.  The ump continues to inform the Manager that the change becomes an Official Substitution and since we don't use the Reentry Rule, Peter (even though he didn't pitch) is not allowed to pitch in the game.  Was this the right call bu the umpire?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Part of this might depend on whether Peter was also in the lineup in a different position and the specific rules code being used.

 

OBR says:

(f ) The pitcher named in the batting order handed the umpire-inchief,
as provided in Rules 4.02(a) and 4.02(b), shall pitch to
the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put
out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness
which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates
him from pitching.

 

So, either Peter pitches to the first batter, or Peter is too injured to pitch -- and we wouldn't want him back in the game in that instance.

 

And, in the case on non-pitchers, they can be substituted for, but it is a substitution and the original player cannot return.

 

FED has:

PENALTY: If the starting pitcher does not face one batter, he may play another position, but not return to pitch.

That gets a little complicated in your instance because FED allows re-entry, and your league does not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×