Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest warren d

walk off ground rule double

Question

Guest warren d

bases loaded, winning run on third, bottom of ninth. batter hits a ground rule double. how many rbis is he credited and does he get a double or single

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
21 minutes ago, Guest warren d said:

bases loaded, winning run on third, bottom of ninth. batter hits a ground rule double. how many rbis is he credited and does he get a double or single

Scoring rule:

(f ) Subject to the provisions of Rule 9.06(g), when a batter ends a
game with a safe hit that drives in as many runs as are necessary
to put his team in the lead, the official scorer shall credit
such batter with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced
by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the
batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the
runner who scores the winning run.
Rule 9.06 ( f ) Comment: The official scorer shall apply this
rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases
because of being awarded an “automatic” extra-base hit under
various provisions of Rules 5.05 and 5.06(b)(4).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 minutes ago, noumpere said:

Double.  Two RBIs.

 

If it wasn't a ground rule (sic) double, then single and 1 RBI

Nope. Single. One RBI. Scoring rule posted above.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, Guest warren d said:

bases loaded, winning run on third, bottom of ninth. batter hits a ground rule double. how many rbis is he credited and does he get a double or single

 

9 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

Scoring rule:

(f ) Subject to the provisions of Rule 9.06(g), when a batter ends a
game with a safe hit that drives in as many runs as are necessary
to put his team in the lead, the official scorer shall credit
such batter with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced
by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the
batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the
runner who scores the winning run.
Rule 9.06 ( f ) Comment: The official scorer shall apply this
rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases
because of being awarded an “automatic” extra-base hit under
various provisions of Rules 5.05 and 5.06(b)(4).

 

Rich is correct - one run, one RBI, and a single.

The only exception (ie. the provisions of rule 9.06(g)) is an out of the park home run, where all runs score.   I believe that was added in the 20's - until then walk off home runs were treated the same as any other walk off hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
54 minutes ago, noumpere said:

Then I stand corrected.  I thought it was all awards, not just home runs.

well in fairness, it's scoring rule, so you get a pass in my book :D 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×