Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest joker7046

Over running at second base

Question

Guest joker7046

If a base runner beats the force at second base and overruns the base, do they have to return back to second or do they have the option to head to third base? Would this runner be ruled "out" because they didn't stay within the base path? They beat the tag back to second on a run down. But opposing defense stated runner was out due to being out of the basepath. The ump stated the runner was safe and that since he over ran second base, the runner had the option to run to third base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

There are no rules that compel any runner to stay on any base. Runners can overrun 1B without being placed in any danger so long as they return immediately to the bag without making any attempt to advance. At 2B and 3B they have no such opportunity. In this case, or any case,  the runner has every right to stay or not stay at 2B. If the runner advances they are at risk of being put out.

If the runner deviated from the "basepath", it would only matter should there be an attempt to retire him and he went more than 3 feet away from the straight path between his location and the base he was headed to while the defense was trying to retire him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
5 hours ago, Guest joker7046 said:

 But opposing defense stated runner was out due to being out of the basepath.

Some individuals mistake "base line" and "base path."  The  base line is the straight line between the bases.  IT has nothing to do with any rule relevant to this situation.  The base path is a straight line from the runner's position to the base he is attempting to reach.  It only comes into play when there's a tag attempt.  Once a tag attempt is started, the runner cannot run more that 3' to the side of that line to avoid a tag.

It's a little hard to tell from your description, but I don't think the runner violated that provision -- the play was legal and the runner was correctly rules safe.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×