Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Mad Mike

Balk and Base Awards

Recommended Posts

OBR Rule Set:

Runner on First, outs don't matter. Pitcher rolls through coming set, delivers ball (count was 2-1). Umpires call "Balk". Batter takes pitch without swinging. R1 stealing on the pitch. Catcher throws it into centerfield.

R1 rounds second and heads for third. 

I think there was an error when the "Time" was called and the runner was placed back at second. R1 should have been allowed to advance at his own jeopardy. If he made third, then bonus for him. If he was thrown out, then under OBR-he is out.  We would nullify the pitch and play on, correct?

____________________________________

I believe this was confused with an interference call where if the catcher does not retire the runner on the immediate throw-we kill the play.

Any comments and/or rule references would be appreciated.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Time should be called when the catcher catches the pitch. R1 awarded second.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What grayhawk said.

In OBR, unless the batter puts the ball in play and all baserunners as well as the BR advance at least one base, the balk is enforced.

Time is called as soon as the pitch crosses the plate, whether handled by F2 or not. The bases are then awarded.

If the pitch is fouled off, the balk is also enforced and bases awarded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Man_In_Black said:

What grayhawk said.

In OBR, unless the batter puts the ball in play and all baserunners as well as the BR advance at least one base, the balk is enforced.

Time is called as soon as the pitch crosses the plate, whether handled by F2 or not. The bases are then awarded.

If the pitch is fouled off, the balk is also enforced and bases awarded.

What @grayhawk said is correct. Your next two sentences are not correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Man_In_Black said:

What grayhawk said.

In OBR, unless the batter puts the ball in play and all baserunners as well as the BR advance at least one base, the balk is enforced.

 

Or if the ball is thrown wild and all runners advance ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is a good example of why Fed makes balks immediately dead. There is a lot to learn pertaining to delayed dead balks and thousands of umpires would be all over the place in their rulings.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By Thunderheads
      Hi all ...
      I'm losing my mind .... (at least I think I am) but ....  A dropped ball by a pitcher is a balk (that doesn't cross the foul line) ONLY if he's touching the pitchers plate, yes?  Why do I think I remember seeing "either on the rubber or straddling" ??   All I'm finding is 6-2-4a
      Help! Thanks!
    • By chalen
      OBR. R1, stealing on the pitch. The pitcher using the set position balks by failing to come to a discernible stop but delivers the pitch. The batter lays down a bunt. F2 fields the batted ball and throws out the batter-runner at 1B. Obviously we have a no-pitch and we will enforce the balk. Because the batter did not achieve 1B, do we kill the play immediately when the out is recorded at 1B, regardless the location of R1? If R1 was already on 3B when the out was recorded, is R1 still returned to 2B?
    • By chalen
      R1 and R2 (on 1B and 2B, of course). The pitcher balks with a feint to 1B, then throws the ball past 1B. R2 scores, but R1 (who dove back to 1B and was slow to advance), is tagged out while attempting to reach 2B. So we enforce the balk. Obviously R1 gets 2B. Is R2 returned to 3B?
×