Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Scott

Force out

Question

Guest Scott

Runner at first base steals second on the pitch. Batter hit a pop up to shallow right field. Runner stealing touches second base then starts coming back to first. Ball drops in and the runner goes back to second. Is the force out still in play since he already was on second?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes.  When he retreats past second base, the force play is reinstated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Right from the rule book:

 

(Any runner is out when):

(6) He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next
base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the
batter becoming a runner. However, if a following runner
is put out on a force play, the force is removed and the
runner must be tagged to be put out. The force is removed
as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is
forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the
base, the runner must be tagged to be put out. However, if
the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats
for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the
force play is reinstated, and he can again be put out if the
defense tags the base to which he is forced;

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×