Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
rjt6

Funny Coach’s Response on Baserunning Mistake

Recommended Posts

I guess this post would fit here...

Anyway, 9U game about a month ago. The runner on first is stealing on the pitch, but the batter flies out to LF. The runner was roughly 5 feet past 2B going towards third when he realizes he has to go back to 1B. He decides to cut through the middle of the field (not re-tagging 2B). He is called out. The 1B coach was confused and asked why the runner was called out, and I explained that he didn’t re-tag 2B. Then, the coach replies, “Oh, I didn’t know we were going to be technical in this league!”

I ignored the comment and was trying everything I could not to start laughing hysterically. For whatever reason, I found the response to be really funny.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Does this 9U league have some sort of "automatic appeal" rule? This is a missed base, and would otherwise require an appeal by the defense in order to yield an out.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, maven said:

Does this 9U league have some sort of "automatic appeal" rule? This is a missed base, and would otherwise require an appeal by the defense in order to yield an out.

@maven The defending team did appeal. I forgot to mention that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, rjt6 said:

@maven The defending team did appeal. I forgot to mention that.

Did they continous action appeal the the failure to tag at 1B or did R1 get back in time and then the miss of 2B was appealed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, rjt6 said:

“Oh, I didn’t know we were going to be technical in this league!”

If you're not going to follow the rules, why would you need an umpire?

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Jimurray said:

Did they continous action appeal the the failure to tag at 1B or did R1 get back in time and then the miss of 2B was appealed?

9U? Who cares!? Outs are GOLD, man!!

  • Like 2
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Jimurray said:

Did they continous action appeal the the failure to tag at 1B or did R1 get back in time and then the miss of 2B was appealed?

@Jimurray He got back in time, and the miss of 2B was appealed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎6‎/‎2‎/‎2018 at 12:16 AM, Jimurray said:

Not bad for the 9U opposing coach. Who did get technical. 

Time to recruit a future umpire..........

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×