I was PU during U12 tournament played under FED rules. In middle of game, HC asks me to "watch the other team" between innings because they had "too many batters" in front of their bench area between innings swinging bats while his pitcher was throwing warm-up pitches. I told him I'd "keep an eye on it" but the game ended early (mercy rule) and it never came up again.
Post-game I looked up FED rules and all I found re: this situation is 3-3-3: "Players loosening up to bat shall remain in the area of their team's on-deck circle while the pitcher is warming up."
Does anyone know if FED (or other rule sets) limits the amount of players who can warm up between innings?
Had a situation yesterday as follows:
JV Fed Game. Bases loaded, no outs. I'm PU.
Groundball to SS, R2 plows into SS as he is trying to field the ball. Partner did not kill the play as he thought it was a delayed dead ball, so I stepped in and killed it and called R2 out and returned R3.
I know we can get more outs based on the possible prevention of a double play. At the time we did not rule any additional outs, but immediately after the inning I was thinking we should have potentially gotten 3 outs.
R2 for interference, and R1 and BR for the prevented potential double play.
Is this too many outs to get from this play? For sure I am thinking we should have gotten at least 2, R2 and R1 at least.
Thanks for your thoughts, this play doesn't occur too often and I want to be better prepared next time.
Wanted confirmation of a ruling we made from a Varsity Fed game from Monday.
Bases loaded, outs don't matter.
Chopper to 1st base, he comes home with the throw to try and get the force, but the ball isn't it time and hits either the catcher or batter (unsure) and deflects into the dugout.
2 base award from TOP? This is what we ended up doing. I was thinking this is correct since the deflection was not intentional or a secondary action.
Seeking info and feedback regarding the few questions I got wrong. Read below.
1. A force is reinstated when a runner retreats past the base to which he was forced to advance. T or F I marked False due to a runner who passes a base needing to be tagged upon returning. Unless I am misinterpreting the question. Correct answer is TRUE
2. No outs, R3 on third and R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B4 interferes with F2, but F2's throw gets R1 out. During the play at second, R3 scores. B4's interference is ignored and R3 scores. T or F. I put false due to the interference from my understanding runners return back their base start of pitch. Correct answer is TRUE. What if R1 gets caught in a rundown because hes thrown out by a mile? Kill it if first attempt is not successful?
3. A coach physically assisting a runner during playing action is interference. T or F. I put TRUE and apparently its false.
Any feedback is welcome.