Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Charlie12212

Balk? Fake to third, fake to first...

Newbie here....I've searched for this and can't find exact situation.  High School game, runners on 1st and 3rd, pitcher doesn't disengage from rubber (still a pitcher, not a fielder), makes legal pick off move to third, fakes throw to third, then pivots and fakes a throw to pickoff runner at first.  Balk?  Legal?  Thanks all. 

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Outlawed in OBR about 6 years ago. Still legal in HS.

OBR 6.02(a)(2) :It is a balk when: The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first or third base and fails to complete the throw;

Fed 6.2.4(a): any feinting toward the batter or first base,

12 minutes ago, Charlie12212 said:

Thank you!

Did the pivot foot drag off the rubber in the feint to 3B? It normally does but since you say "pivot" It might not have dissengaged. In which case F1 has to throw to 1B and can't feint there. In pre no feint to 3B OBR and NCAA the pitcher has (OBR had) to break contact with the rubber to throw or feint to 1B after the 3B feint. HS is different.

44 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

It normally does but since you say "pivot" It might not have dissengaged.

In my judgment, it disengaged during the feint to 3B.

• Like 1

Mr. Charlie12212, when the pitcher in your scenario faked to first it was a balk—he has to throw to first after the legal fake to third. And the pitcher may make that throw with or without disengaging the rubber. Check out the following case book play.

2018 (also in the 2015 book) NFHS Case Book play: