Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Tim

Force outs

Question

Guest Tim

 My question is you have a runner on third base there are two outs the batter hits a line drive to the pitcher, which  bounces the pitcher place the ball to into play by attempting to get the runner out coming home does not make a play to first base to get the force out. The better halfway up the first base thought  The ball was caught and returnto pick his bat  up. The umpire stated the run did not count and the batter was out even though the run acrossed the plate prior to batter returning to pick up his bat.and no attempt was made for the force out. My question is does the run count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

A run does not count when the batter makes the third out before reaching first base.  It doesn't matter if he's put out by F3 touching first, or by being tagged, or by being appealed that he missed first, or declared out for returning to and touching home (your example, but I'm making some assumptions on what happened).

 

(and, technically, the batter is never forced to first, but it doesn't really matter)

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×