Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Edzo

Catcher interference

Question

Guest Edzo

Batter fouls off a pitch but bat strikes catches Mir as same time? Is it catcher interference and batter awarded firstbase

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
2 minutes ago, ElkOil said:

It's up to the judgement of the umpire as to which occurred first

reference please.

 

That said, it's nearly impossible for the bat to hit the ball first and then the glove.  I'd have CI all day long on this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
23 minutes ago, Guest Edzo said:

Batter fouls off a pitch but bat strikes catches Mir as same time? Is it catcher interference and batter awarded firstbase

It's up to the judgement of the umpire as to which occurred first -- the foul or the bat striking the glove. He will use whatever sensory input he could get to make his decision.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

reference please.

 

That said, it's nearly impossible for the bat to hit the ball first and then the glove.  I'd have CI all day long on this.

FED 10-1-4.

Indeed. And that would be your judgement. I'm confident having worked many games with umpires of varying skill and experience levels that not all would call it that way and instead say it was foul if it was as close as the OP says.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×