Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
tankmjg24

Interesting Base Running Award

Recommended Posts

NFHS Varsity baseball game with R1, R2 and 1 out.  Batter hits a soft line drive towards F6, R2 runs back to 2nd base while R1 takes off for 2nd base.  F6 jumps for the ball and is unsuccessful in catching the hit ball and it lands about 15 feet deep in short left field.  At this point R2 reverses and heads to 3rd as R1 has reached 2nd and BR has reached 1st.  F6 chases down the ball and attempts to throw out the advancing R2 and in doing so overthrows F5 and the ball sails into the dugout.  Is this award considered 2 bases from TOT since the ball is located in the outfield, or is it considered 2 bases from TOP since F6 is doing the throwing?  We scored R2 and R1 and placed BR on 3rd.  Coach questioned this ruling but accepted the answer that the ball was physically thrown via the outfield and that it did not necessarily make a difference who does the throw but the location of the throw.  

To answer a few questions that may be asked; no it was not an infield fly, no R1 did not pass R2, and no all base runners had not acquired the next base at the time of the throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Would F6 failing to make a play on the ball be considered "1st play"? What if the ball hit off his glove?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, BT_Blue said:

Would F6 failing to make a play on the ball be considered "1st play"? What if the ball hit off his glove?

No -- that's not a "play" -- you can get the definition in MLBUM or similar (and it's been posted here before) -- it's an act by a player who already has the ball to make a bonifide attempt to retire a runner.

 

Edit:  Here it is (I didn't think I had this available)

A play or attempted play is interpreted as a legitimate effort by a defensive player who has
possession of the ball to actually retire a runner. This may include an actual attempt to tag a
runner, a fielder running toward a base with the ball in an attempt to force or tag a runner, or
actually throwing to another defensive player in an attempt to retire a runner. (The fact that the
runner is not out is not relevant.) A fake or a feint to throw shall not be deemed a play or an
attempted play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For FED, it says right there in 8-3-5: "For purposes of this rule, the act of fielding is not considered a play."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm going to chalk this up to me having toddler brain and just walk away quietly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Definition of a play is not Umpire 101 stuff, but definitely important for an umpire to know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×