Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Mad Mike

How Would You Handle This?

Recommended Posts

10 hours ago, grayhawk said:

I have been told by a state interpreter that a forced runner who is called out for abandonment is a force out.  Not really covered in the definition, but that's what he said.

I don't think anyone wants to allow a run on this play, whether it scores before or after TOI. You can hang your hat on your state interpreter's notion; most of us can't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
4 hours ago, maven said:

I don't think anyone wants to allow a run on this play, whether it scores before or after TOI. You can hang your hat on your state interpreter's notion; most of us can't.

I do feel that Fed considers an out on a forced runner to be a force out no matter the actual reason that he becomes out. They may not list every possible scenario in the definition, but I believe this is how they want it.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, grayhawk said:

I do feel that Fed considers an out on a forced runner to be a force out no matter the actual reason that he becomes out. They may not list every possible scenario in the definition, but I believe this is how they want it.

I dunno: if that's what they wanted, it's a lot easier than a list of every possible scenario. Just say a force out is any out made by a runner who is forced to advance....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, maven said:

I dunno: if that's what they wanted, it's a lot easier than a list of every possible scenario. Just say a force out is any out made by a runner who is forced to advance....

I agree, but Fed doesn't always (rarely?) do what's easy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, grayhawk said:

I agree, but Fed doesn't always (rarely?) do what's easy.

giphy.gif

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/8/2018 at 6:27 PM, Jimurray said:

Before I put my thinking cap on I’m looking for an easy out. How could R3 score before the TOI which was not when it was called. It was when it happened. 

Easy - R3 goes on contact, R2 forgets there are two out and tags up on the high fly ball, then realizing his mistake leaves for third, allowing R3 to score before the INT occurs.

Forced runner making third out before reaching forced base should nullify run, no matter how he gets out.   Otherwise, just run off baseline (or run to the dugout) to turn a would be force into a time play.

Sorry - I'm a little bored today - reading old posts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/8/2018 at 8:18 PM, Mad Mike said:

How would you handle this?

NFHS

Bases Loaded, 2 outs, high pop fly to short-stop. Runners going on contact. R2 clips shortstop. Umpire rules interference; however, R3 had crossed plate before interference was called. 

I have a group that is giving different answers: Timing Play (score the run), R2 forced to advance and interferes (thus treat as force out on the interfering runner) no run scores, or no run can score on interference-ball is dead--call interfering runner out, inning over with no runs scoring. If there were less than 2 out, return all runners TOP--call interfering runner out, BR goes to first.

What is the best rule reference for this situation?

The call should have been made immediately per FED rules. What should have happened is "Dead ball, that's interference, runner's out!" Don't score the run.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Similar Content

    • By MR20
      Hi all, the end result of this play was called Interference. Is that the correct call?
      With the bases loaded and one out, the batter hit a grounder to 3B. The runner from 3B scored. The third basemen fielded the ball and tug 3B for the force out on the runner from 2B (for the 2nd out) and threw the ball to 1B hoping for a double play. However, the throw to 1B was errant and the batter was safe. The runner from 1B went all the way to 3B during this time.
      Here is where it gets crazy. The runner who was forced out at 3B thought he was safe and ran towards home on the errant throw. The defensive team threw home and the runner was called out (again) for the final out of the inning. The defense left the field. The offensive team realized what happened and argued that the runner couldn't be called out twice. Their stance was that the play should be ruled dead and the batter, who had gone to 2B when the defense threw home, should be returned to 1B and there should still be 2 outs.
      After a long discussion, the umpires ruled that the runner wasn't out because he was tagged out at home (the second time he'd been called out) but he was out because of interference. That was the final out and end of the inning.
      Was that the correct call? I had never seen anything like it before.
      Thank you,
      Mike
    • By johnnyg08
      R2 (stealing), R3 (not stealing)
      Batter squares to bunt and hits the catcher's mitt while trying to bunt the pitch. The plate umpire correctly calls interference on the catcher. The pitch is fouled off out of play. The umpire begins to enforce the penalty.
      Without wondering why R3 isn't stealing, but R2 is stealing state the proper enforcement below. Feel free to cite any applicable case plays, rule citations, etc...
       
       
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By jms1425
      Stumbled across this video that was posted 11 years ago (YouTube is that old??).... My initial thought was that F1 is no longer protected after the ball hit him and bounced away by more than "a step and a reach", thus this would be obstruction on F1, so BR gets 1st.
      Thoughts?
       
       
       
×