Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Mudder

Interference on R3, or not?

Recommended Posts

I'm BU, R3 has a big lead in foul territory by a couple of feet, ball is hit sharply down the 3B line just barely to the right of R3 (on the 3rd base dugout side), instead of avoiding the batted ball, R3 lifts his right leg and intentionally kicks the ball, while he was standing a couple of feet in foul territory,  thinking, well its foul anyway.  PU said ball was 1.5-2' foul at the most, when kicked.  Partner calls R3 out for interference, offense complains.

If it hit R3 unintentionally while foul its nothing, but because of the intentional contact,  is this a judgement call, ie. R3 is out if you judge that ball had any chance of going fair?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

6.01 Interference, Obstruction, and Catcher Collisions
(a) Batter or Runner Interference
It is interference by a batter or a runner when:
(1) After a third strike that is not caught by the catcher, the
batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to
field the ball. Such batter-runner is out, the ball is dead,
and all other runners return to the bases they occupied at
the time of the pitch;
Rule 6.01(a)(1) Comment: If the pitched ball deflects off the
catcher or umpire and subsequently touches the batter-runner,
it is not considered interference unless, in the judgment of the
umpire, the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his
attempt to field the ball.
(2) He intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any
manner;

 

Additional interps make this an out only if the ball had a chance to go fair

 

(And, I'm assuming the ball couldn't be caught and /or was already grounded)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, noumpere said:

2) He intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any
manner;

Additional interps make this an out only if the ball had a chance to go fair

FED has this rule for a batter (7-4-1i), and for a BR intentionally contacting a foul ball with his bat (8-4-1d), both similarly qualified (must have a chance to go fair).

I don't see any parallel for runners, but I'd treat it the same.

The OP seems to me like a borderline case: close enough to support an INT call, but far enough that a no-call would be equally supportable (followed by a "don't do that").

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The coach is not covered. 6.01 (a) mentions interference by a batter or runner, but not by a coach, so a coach fielding a foul ball is nothing, especially if he is in the coach's box and past 1st (or 3rd) base. 

In professional rules, the runner's action is definitely interference, so in high school rules, I would go for an interference call as well (definitely in a varsity game). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

Gee - we could call a gazillion outs when coaches field foul balls.

Learn the game, not just the rules.

Thanks for the umpiring tip, coach. Always welcome in this forum.

If a batted ball reaches a properly positioned base coach, then its probability of going fair is vanishingly small. No one would reasonably rule that team personnel INT.

It is false that we could properly call a gazillion outs, at least if 'gazillion' is more than zero.

But you do you.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, maven said:

Thanks for the umpiring tip, coach. Always welcome in this forum.

If a batted ball reaches a properly positioned base coach, then its probability of going fair is vanishingly small. No one would reasonably rule that team personnel INT.

It is false that we could properly call a gazillion outs, at least if 'gazillion' is more than zero.

But you do you.

If a ground ball hits a properly positioned R3 the odds of it going fair are vanishingly small.

If a ground ball that could go fair is deliberately deflected by a coach what is the call?

And all I said was the equivalent of  the baseball version of know when to hold 'em and when to fold 'em.  Like in it's really only interference if the ball had a chance to go fair.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×