Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Nimrod

Siganals: one or two hands?

Question

Guest Nimrod

An older umpire told me to use only one hand to signal the count: on say two ball, no strike.  Yet last night I saw a MLB umpire signal two ball and a fist on the 2-0 count.

What should we do for HS?  Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I don't work FED, so I don't know if NFHS has an umpire manual, but if you belong to an association that mandates one or two hands, do what it requires. Otherwise, do what you wish. Every umpire--everyone!--around here uses two hands. Why do "older umpires" think it's necessary to micromanage like this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

At one time, using only one hand was taught -- and maybe it was only for balls (2-0 use just the left) or only for strikes (0-2 use only the right) but not for the other.  I forget.

 

While it's not a big deal, it's easy to fix (either way).  Do what your association wants.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Nimrod, do you have a copy of a FED rule book? If so, I direct you to the table of contents—you should find an entry shown as Official NFHS Baseball Signals.

In my copy of the 2015 NFHS Baseball Rules Book that particular section falls on pages 72-73. When you go to that section you will see drawings depicting all the umpire signals. In 2015, the drawing labeled I depicts the umpire signal for Count—it shows the umpire using both hands simultaneously to indicate the count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
16 hours ago, Guest Nimrod said:

An older umpire told me to use only one hand to signal the count: on say two ball, no strike.  Yet last night I saw a MLB umpire signal two ball and a fist on the 2-0 count.

What should we do for HS?  Thanks.

If you are only using one hand and I look up and see you signaling something how do I know if it's ball or strike?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

If you are only using one hand and I look up and see you signaling something how do I know if it's ball or strike?

Ought to have a verbal with that signal as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Leave it to Senor Azul to provide the authoritative answer! Right on the money:

The 2017 NFHS signals can be found on-line (www.nfhs.org/media/1017816/baseball_umpires_signals_2017.pdf); there is the diagram as he describes and the caption reads, "Left hand indicates balls followed by the number of strikes thrown on the right hand. Verbally give count."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 5/5/2018 at 4:45 AM, Guest Nimrod said:

An older umpire told me to use only one hand to signal the count...

Unless, as @Aging_Arbiter alludes to, this umpire is absent either (or both) hands... then the "older umpire" telling you to do this is something far more tragic than an amputee...

 

He's lazy.

Do it right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×