Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Tksjewelry

Jump spin from modified

Recommended Posts

Is the jump spin pick off move to second a balk in OBR from the modified position?

 

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Not sure what you mean by a modified position (I know of wind-up and set positions) but if its a legal pitching stance, then a legal jump spin pick off move to second isn't a balk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Tksjewelry said:

 

Is the jump spin pick off move to second a balk in OBR from the modified position?

Only if it fails to satisfy the requirements of a throw/feinted throw to a base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't think so but I wanted to make sure I wasn't wrong in a no call.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Tksjewelry said:

I didn't think so but I wanted to make sure I wasn't wrong in a no call.

Without more info about what he did, we can neither confirm nor deny the correctness of your judgment call. I merely referenced the criteria from the rule, I didn't presume to apply them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Without more info about what he did, we can neither confirm nor deny the correctness of your judgment call. I merely referenced the criteria from the rule, I didn't presume to apply them.
Kid in the combo, imo, more stretch than wind-up, right handed pitcher, backspin a pick off to second. Right foot landed half off the back of the plate. Ended up not mattering, all the runners went in with ease, but I've got that gut feeling something wasn't right with the move and I can't get it straight in my head.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
57 minutes ago, Tksjewelry said:

Kid in the combo, imo, more stretch than wind-up, right handed pitcher, backspin a pick off to second. Right foot landed half off the back of the plate. Ended up not mattering, all the runners went in with ease, but I've got that gut feeling something wasn't right with the move and I can't get it straight in my head.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
 

Why would where the pivot foot ended up matter in a move, throw, feint, to 2B? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Why would where the pivot foot ended up matter in a move, throw, feint, to 2B? 
Just a full description is all

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm curious...what is this "modified," "combo" stuff?
Half in stretch half in windup.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Tksjewelry said:

Half in stretch half in windup.
 

No such thing.

Good thing, it's not a violation (generally)until they try to pitch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Matt said:

I'm curious...what is this "modified," "combo" stuff?

I assume tks means the FED "hybrid" stance -- but it has no (real) meaning in OBR.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I assume tks means the FED "hybrid" stance -- but it has no (real) meaning in OBR.
Yes, it's hybrid. My brain is a bit fried between my heavy game schedule, training new umpires and assigning games. I apologize guys.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, Tksjewelry said:

Yes, it's hybrid. My brain is a bit fried between my heavy game schedule, training new umpires and assigning games. I apologize guys.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
 

There is not "hybrid" in OBR.  You need to determine whether F1 is wind-up or set (see below) and the apply the appropriate rules -- but it's legal to throw or feint to second from either position (subject, perhaps, to other restrictions).

With a runner or runners on base, a pitcher will be presumed to
be pitching from the Set Position if he stands with his pivot
foot in contact with and parallel to the pitcher’s plate, and his
other foot in front of the pitcher’s plate, unless he notifies the
umpire that he will be pitching from the Windup Position
under such circumstances prior to the beginning of an at-bat.
A pitcher will be permitted to notify the umpire that he is
pitching from the Windup Position within an at-bat only in the
event of (i) a substitution by the offensive team; or (ii) immediately
upon the advancement of one or more runners (i.e., after
one or more base runners advance but before the delivery of
the next pitch).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×