Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Gfoley4

Two runners on third, lead runner out?

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

No protest?, if the lead runner was called out and there is no other information. Some guys live with the angels.

Just like pro umpires of pro players in MLB, are they written up and penalized/not penalized if they miss a rule interpretation which is different than a judgement call and everyone sees it on tv.

Do they self report missing a rule interpretation if a regional supervisor/coordinator is not there to see it and a coach does not call the conference office/coordinator to inquire? Just wondering how it works at the collegiate level.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, dumbdumb said:

No protest?

Maybe R2 is a better baserunner than R3. Coach says to himself "I know they got it wrong, but I'm not going to correct them."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Haid D' Salaami said:

so no one is going to ask WTH the PU was doing all the way up the line?

Making sure that his ruling stood.  ;)

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
57 minutes ago, Haid D' Salaami said:

so no one is going to ask WTH the PU was doing all the way up the line?

With R1 wouldn't the PU have all of the rundown until R1 brought the BU to 3B? Didn't the BU overcommit to 3B and missed R1s touch of 2B. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NCAA rule 8-1-c. If a runner is in a run down between bases and the following runner occupies the same base the first runner has left, the second runner cannot be put out while occupying said base. If the first runner, however, returns safely to the base last touched and both runners then are occupying the same base, the second runner is out, if touched with the ball and there is no force.

Note: No runner shall advance on an interference play called on another runner. A runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached and touched the next base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, MidAmUmp said:

The crew got together and fixed it. The end result was R2 was called out.

Perhaps they had a momentary lapse thinking that it was bases loaded to start the play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Jimurray said:

With R1 wouldn't the PU have all of the rundown until R1 brought the BU to 3B? Didn't the BU overcommit to 3B and missed R1s touch of 2B. 

 

24 minutes ago, MidAmUmp said:

The crew got together and fixed it. The end result was R2 was called out.

So this was 3 man. I don't understand U3's position with R1 and R3. And did U1 react to PU and cover home or take the BR to 2B?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×