Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Tborze

FED pitching requirement

Recommended Posts

In the set position, the pitcher is required to have "the ball in both hands in front of the body and his glove at or below his chin". 

Is there a restriction on where the glove is in the wind up?  The rule only states "in front of the body". Does that mean NOT in front of his face?

If there is a difference, what is it?  

Is it considered an advantage to make a snap throw from a higher set position?

Some one said it was to prevent them from spitting on the ball.  If that were the case, it would be illegal in both positions assuming there is a distinction.  

Has anyone else noticed there seems to be conflicting rules regarding the wind up?  

2.28.3 C seems to contradict 6.1.2 C for example, as well as others.  

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
4 minutes ago, Tborze said:

In the set position, the pitcher is required to have "the ball in both hands in front of the body and his glove at or below his chin". 

Is there a restriction on where the glove is in the wind up?  The rule only states "in front of the body". Does that mean NOT in front of his face?

If there is a difference, what is it?  

Is it considered an advantage to make a snap throw from a higher set position?

Some one said it was to prevent them from spitting on the ball.  If that were the case, it would be illegal in both positions assuming there is a distinction.  

Has anyone else noticed there seems to be conflicting rules regarding the wind up?  

2.28.3 C seems to contradict 6.1.2 C for example, as well as others.  

 

 

 

 

6.1.2C already has one arm up. Both arms are not moving together.  I usually discern that if F1 does as in 2.28.3C. Not called in my neck of the woods. The OBR "you know it when you see it" seems to be accepted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

6.1.2C already has one arm up. Both arms are not moving together.  I usually discern that if F1 does as in 2.28.3C. Not called in my neck of the woods. The OBR "you know it when you see it" seems to be accepted.

Wow, it does!  I've read that a dozen times and read it as though both arms were moving. TX 

As you say, you know it when you see it!  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no restriction where F1 positions his gloved hand in the wind-up position.  

Where in the rules for the wind-up position does it state that the glove be "in front of the body?"

It is not considered an advantage to make a snap throw from a higher set position.  It just looks stupid and NFHS doesn't want their kids looking bad.  (A little humor!)

I don't see a conflict regarding the wind-up.    

2.28.3 C states F1 moved both arms simultaneously, then stopped.  That's a start-stop infraction. 

6.1.2 C states F1 moved one arm to join hands.  That's legal.  The TOP begins from the wind-up when F1 moves two arms and/or and arm and the non-pivot foot simultaneously.  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Cav said:

There is no restriction where F1 positions his gloved hand in the wind-up position.  

Where in the rules for the wind-up position does it state that the glove be "in front of the body?" 6-1-2

It is not considered an advantage to make a snap throw from a higher set position.  It just looks stupid and NFHS doesn't want their kids looking bad.  (A little humor!)

I don't see a conflict regarding the wind-up.    

2.28.3 C states F1 moved both arms simultaneously, then stopped.  That's a start-stop infraction. 

6.1.2 C states F1 moved one arm to join hands.  That's legal.  The TOP begins from the wind-up when F1 moves two arms and/or and arm and the non-pivot foot simultaneously.  This has already been addressed

 

My question is, why is it a balk if the pitcher comes set with his glove above his chin?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Tborze said:

My question is, why is it a balk if the pitcher comes set with his glove above his chin?  

To give inexperienced umpires balks to call. That, momentary adjustment that cannot be construed as coming set, hand to mouth on the rubber with runners, hand adjusting cap on the rubber with runners (not a balk anymore but was), gorilla arm (eased the enforcement). I have to admit I will balk a change to windup or set without proper dissengagement which could be viewed as technical as my above examples. But most HS umps that WANT to look for the above transgessions probably wouldn't catch a knee pop  or an elephant balk if their life depended on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

To give inexperienced umpires balks to call. That, momentary adjustment that cannot be construed as coming set, hand to mouth on the rubber with runners, hand adjusting cap on the rubber with runners (not a balk anymore but was), gorilla arm (eased the enforcement). I have to admit I will balk a change to windup or set without proper dissengagement which could be viewed as technical as my above examples. But most HS umps that WANT to look for the above transgessions probably wouldn't catch a knee pop  or an elephant balk if their life depended on it.

Thank You!  OOO's ?

For the life of me, I couldn't figure out why this would be called. 

there has been an umpire who has called this, so called infraction, 3 times in 2 games. One was from the wind up with an R3. Yes he balked in a run. 

I'm just trying to wrap my head around it to explain why it would be called.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, Tborze said:

Thank You!  OOO's ?

For the life of me, I couldn't figure out why this would be called. 

there has been an umpire who has called this, so called infraction, 3 times in 2 games. One was from the wind up with an R3. Yes he balked in a run. 

I'm just trying to wrap my head around it to explain why it would be called.  

I have balked in a winning run for a pitcher not coming set.  Pretty damn blatant on his part for me to call it in that situation.  Considering I had warned him twice prior to calling it. And it was a school night in extra innings.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Tborze said:

My question is, why is it a balk if the pitcher comes set with his glove above his chin?  

Because my "bible" tells me so at 6-1-3, a publication by coaches, for coaches.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Tborze said:

My question is, why is it a balk if the pitcher comes set with his glove above his chin?  

I dunno....but like the gorilla arm and other rules, I bet it came out of someone in CA, TX, or FL getting bent out of shape about it. That seems to be the pattern as I understand it. Perhaps someone thought that holding your hands up high in the set allowed an "unfair" ability to snap throw to first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×