Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest graham

RHP pickoff to 1st - stepping to first without disengaging

Question

Guest graham

RHP in set position from stretch.  Runner on 1st.  RHP steps directly toward first base without disengaging from the rubber.  The step is led by the back of the left heel and the foot consistently gains direction and distance toward first.  Legal pickoff or balk?  

The natural pitching motion of the kid is to lift is left leg up, in front of torso, and then stride to home.  The umpire stated that, during the pickoff move, the kid's left foot and knee moves in the opposite direction of his normal pitching motion, there is no deceit to deliver the ball to the plate.  What say you?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
9 minutes ago, Guest graham said:

RHP in set position from stretch.  Runner on 1st.  RHP steps directly toward first base without disengaging from the rubber.  The step is led by the back of the left heel and the foot consistently gains direction and distance toward first.  Legal pickoff or balk?  

The natural pitching motion of the kid is to lift is left leg up, in front of torso, and then stride to home.  The umpire stated that, during the pickoff move, the kid's left foot and knee moves in the opposite direction of his normal pitching motion, there is no deceit to deliver the ball to the plate.  What say you?

If he stepped directly to 1B it's legal. Disengaging is not required.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Does a LH pitcher have to disengage to throw to first?  No.

Do the rules have different requirements for a RH pitcher and a LH pitcher?  No.

So, can a RH pitcher throw to first without disengaging?  Yes.

 

(Note that when a pitcher goes to / toward the balance point, the rules *might seem* to be different -- a LH pitcher can then throw to first; a RH pitcher cannot.  But,  the difference is not in the rule -- it's in the base being faced.  A RH pitcher can go to / toward the balance point and throw to third (assuming it's occupied, or a runner is attempting or feinting an advance); a LH pitcher cannot.  Same rule.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×