Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
S. vanTootblan

Tag runner on half-off helmet - out?

Question

Just a weird hypothetical based on a play in an MLB game the other day: Close play at the plate on a Sac Fly, runner is sliding headfirst, catcher swipes the tag and gets the runner on the helmet just before he touches the plate. But it's a one-flap helmet, and is coming off his head as the tag is applied. Question: how "off" does the helmet have to be for it to be for the runner to be safe?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Runners are out when tagged on their uniform or equipment. Runners are responsible for wearing their equipment correctly. Unless the helmet is not in physical contact with the runner (in the air or on the ground), I've got an out.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
32 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

It's off. Where is the doubt?

Between "completely on and worn as intended" and "clearly off and no longer part of the person" there's a grey area where the helmet goes from "loose" to "falling off" to "barely on"  to "barely off, but only visible through slo-mo replay" to ...

If you can't tell that it's "clearly off and no longer part of the person" consider it "on" and get the out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
45 minutes ago, noumpere said:

Between "completely on and worn as intended" and "clearly off and no longer part of the person" there's a grey area where the helmet goes from "loose" to "falling off" to "barely on"  to "barely off, but only visible through slo-mo replay" to ...

If you can't tell that it's "clearly off and no longer part of the person" consider it "on" and get the out.

"Completely off" was the situation presented and to which I responded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Aging_Arbiter said:

day game or night game?

In Germany or Russia?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
55 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

"Completely off" was the situation presented and to which I responded.

Nope.  I meant that the rule is "completely off" (answering the OP where the helmet is "coming off") and that the benefit of the doubt when determining that goes to the defense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -1

1) If it's half off, then the tag counts as half an out -- so if the runner is tagged twice, he's out.

 

2) Completely off.  Benefit of the doubt to the defense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By Brunswick Blue
      LL Intermediate game (12-13 YOs) - I'm PU.
      Bases loaded; 1 out.  Ball hit slowly between F1 and 1B foul line. F1 fields and comes home trying to get R3.
      Throw pulls F2 to right of home plate - foot now off plate. F2 gloves the throw and now (for whatever reason) tries to tag R3 In trying to tag R3 - F2 (quite inadvertently - but I know it doesn't matter) - steps on the plate R3 arrives at plate standing at almost the exact time that F2 steps on the plate AND attempts to tag R3. R3 (non-intentionally) in process of scoring runs into F2's glove and ball comes loose. I got R3 safe - as 1) ball must be controlled through a tag of the player or a base; and 2) "slide or attempt to get around" is not applicable here as it was a bang/bang play - and F2 was not waiting to make a tag. 
      D - coach tried to argue the mythical must slide; and that the plate tag preceded the dropped ball.
      Did I get it right? 
      Also - "waiting to make a tag" is a bit subjective - what do you all consider "waiting"?
      Thanks
       
       
    • By BrianC14
      So we all (I assume) get the idea of the base umpire getting his calls, including tag plays.
      Yesterday this situation presented itself.  I'm at the plate, partner is in "B", R3.   Apparently, BU had chosen B to stay to the weak side of the right handed batter.   (Full disclosure:  I would not and do not do this, but apparently he decided to go there).  
      Batter hits a sharp one-hopper to F1, who looks R3 back and then throws B/R out at first easily.  As F1 releases the throw to F3, R3 then moves quickly down the line toward home several steps and stops, and begins a slow retreat to 3B.   F3 fires it back to F5 and a tag is applied, which is an easy call given my angle from my position.  R3 is clearly out by a step or two (R3 was not sliding), but as I give a glance to BU, he doesn't immediately signal and instead is looking at me; it was readily apparent that he was straight-lined on the tag; that's understandable, and I recalled later that he would likely have been straight-lined even if he'd been in "C" due to the positions of R3 and F5.   I immediately call R3 out.   
      How would my fellow umpires have handled this?
    • By LMSANS
      R3, 1 out, Fly ball to F8.  Runner tags...and here is what happened.  I know you want me on 3BX, but I have always done 1BX and can't break the habit.  Offensive coach was asking about blocking the plate without the ball.  I felt that F2 gave the back of the plate.
      I made the out call after seeing the ball.
      Any comments?





    • By Mad Mike
      R1 outs don't matter. OBR rule set. R1 breaks early on the pitch to the batter. R1 arrives at second base at the time the batter fouls off the pitch.
      Can the runner be allowed to stay at second? Or do we have him return because the base he last occupied at TOP was 1st when the ball was fouled off?
      I seem to recall reading about this a few years ago, but I can't find the correct reference in the BRD.
      Any help would be appreciated!!!
       
    • By Thunderheads
      A few things ..........
      Understood the call on the field ........
      Can't understand how you miss a tag like that ..........
      I HATE the finger pointing and histrionics when a player signals to the bench that there should be a review......
      Your browser does not support iframes. 
×