Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Scotty_Ump

How many batters are allowed to warm up between innings?

Recommended Posts

"Two guys with bats, please."

Works every time in HS and college - never had anyone argue.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
1 hour ago, grayhawk said:

"Two guys with bats, please."

Works every time in HS and college - never had anyone argue.

5 guys with bats. Never had anyone argue. 

Game Management!  Who says, use the rules to solve a problem, not create one!?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, Richvee said:

perfect example of using a rule to solve a problem and not create one. 6, 7 guys outside the dugout swinging bats is not only illegal it's a safety issue. Not allowing a player that needs to use the port-o-john to leave the dugout is NOT the INTENT  of the rule. 

There is one team in my area that does it every year. I'm convinced that I am the only one who enforces it. 

When I do their games now, it's kind of funny because a couple of the kids give me a grin like they know I'm the only one who enforces it. 

And what do I mean by it....the entire lineup 1-9 lined up outside of and parallel to the dugout swinging while the starting pitcher is warming up. 

It's annoying because if I were to end up filing an incident report or worse, I can kiss those games for that school goodbye. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Tborze said:

5 guys with bats. Never had anyone argue. 

Game Management!  Who says, use the rules to solve a problem, not create one!?

Enjoy "managing"  that lawsuit when one of those 5 guys clocks another in the head and mom and dad found out your the one who let more than 2 guys swing bats at once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DHC: Blue, they have too many players swinging bats while my pitcher is warming up.

Me: Coach, you have a full plate coaching your team. I suggest that you go tend to them.

If worrying about  frivolous law suits is a "real" concern, there is insurance available to cover your TWP fears. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, MadMax said:

Tournament Directors (who then direct the umpires as such) who are looking to "make no waves with their participating  paying teams

Just a little fix. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, Richvee said:

Just a little fix. ;)

Thanks Rich for correcting my careless oversight. :cool:

The Big Five Ignored Rules (4 of them are Fed “safety rules”!!) at tournaments:

1. Necklaces / jewelry (pitchers still cannot wear anything on the throwing wrist)

2. Catchers may wear an earless batting helmet (skullcap) and traditional mask

3.  Batting team will have >2 players up warming / timing up the opposing pitcher during Dead Ball time (tolerated if all have helmets on)

4. Players (and some coaches, for that matter) are everywhere besides the dugouts. Whether that be chasing down foul balls, running the warning track, behind the backstop visiting with their parents, off to the bathroom (or concession stand), or seeking out the complex’s common-ground bullpen (and thus, you the umpire have no way of policing how the catcher is receiving those warmup pitches), they are not all confined within the bounds of the dugout. The only “chance” you have as an umpire to exert authority is to keep helmets on those members of the OT out of the dugout, trying to keep that number to 1 OD batter, and keeping them from creeping closer and closer to the home plate circle. Then you have that 3BC that wants to give his just-retired runner a tutorial on baserunning in the 3BC box.

5. Teams may bat 9/10/11–14, and there are free defensive exchanges / substitutions. If injured, a player is Withdrawn (scratched from lineup) and the lineup compressed with no Out penalty, unless the lineup drops below 9.

Tournaments do this constantly because while the participants know (of) Fed Rules for playability (feint to 3rd is legal, FPSR at 2nd, immediate Dead on Balk, etc), the TDs aren’t as draconian in the “fine print” Fed Rules application...

oh, and if I was to add a 6th, it’s the amount of latitude encouraged of us umpires to grant to coaches (ie. the amount of SH*# we take) before ejecting them.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Had a situation yesterday as follows: 
      JV Fed Game. Bases loaded, no outs. I'm PU.
      Groundball to SS, R2 plows into SS as he is trying to field the ball. Partner did not kill the play as he thought it was a delayed dead ball, so I stepped in and killed it and called R2 out and returned R3.
      I know we can get more outs based on the possible prevention of a double play. At the time we did not rule any additional outs, but immediately after the inning I was thinking we should have potentially gotten 3 outs. 
      R2 for interference, and R1 and BR for the prevented potential double play.
      Is this too many outs to get from this play? For sure I am thinking we should have gotten at least 2, R2 and R1 at least.
      Thanks for your thoughts, this play doesn't occur too often and I want to be better prepared next time.
    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Had 2 different situations in our game tonight I want to ask the group and see if we did it right. FED Varsity.
      Situation 1
      Visiting Team is batting. #12 is up to bat with a 3-0 count. Home team coach comes and out and mentions "The lineup says #19 is supposed to be at bat, they don't have a #12 on the lineup anywhere." The coach wanted an out which was incorrect no matter what since even if it was an incorrect batter, the correct batter would take over the count. 
      I ruled that he had the proper name of the player written even if he had written the wrong number down and therefore he was the proper batter. Is this correct?
      Situation 2
      Runner on 2nd. Runner breaks for 3rd. Pitcher steps and throws to 3rd without disengaging. My partner ruled this a balk. I thought you could step and throw to an unoccupied base for the purposes of making a play without disengaging. What's the correct ruling here? We stuck with his call since I wasn't positive.
      And for a fun way to start, we had to eject a player in the bottom of the 1st inning. R1 got in a rundown between 1st and 2nd on a pickoff. Ended up being tagged around the head/face area and didn't like it but the play was fine. No MC or intent, just a baseball play. I was PU. R1 got in the face of the kid who tagged him. My partner broke them up and warned them both to not say another word. As R1 is going back towards his dugout he yells for the whole park to hear "tell him not to hit me in the f-ing face."  I promptly acknowledged his desire to no longer participate.
    • By Thunderheads
      Ok ...
      I got this ad from Wilson on my Facebook feed today and for fun ...I posted the following:
      HYPOTHETICAL:
      Your first HS game starts with the pitcher walking to the mound with this new customized Wilson glove. What do you do....

      NOW .... I did this primarily because although TECHNICALLY ILLEGAL ...the amount of gray isn't egregious and I thought, well maybe I see if something is said, as to not be a "Barney Fife" and be an OOO right out of the gate.
      Thoughts? 
    • By Kevin_K
      Since most of us are off the field for the foreseeable future, I thought it might worthwhile getting the insight of the masses on this "situation" that occurred this previous spring. This happened in a HS county final, which in NJ is a dig deal. 
      I have spoken to some here about this already and have the input of a lot of others who are not. Those who are aware should resist the temptation to join in the fun of what ifs or coulda beens if at all possible. Here goes......
      I am PU in a 3 man crew. Bottom 7, 1 out , R1 and R3, Fed rules.
      BR hits a seed to F5, about 6 inches off the ground. R3 is moving on contact. F5 tries to sell the catch of a short hop, but U3 clearly signals and verbalizes no catch, which F5 does not see or hear. F5 runs to 3B in what looks like a DP as R3 was about 20 feet off the base.
      As F5 touches 3B, VT pours out of the 1B dugout celebrating the apparent county championship. BR squats on the 1B line about 15 feet away from HP, thinking he has lined out to F5 and it is a game ending DP. R1 makes his way to 2B, but slows to a stop just before reaching the bag.VT forms a dogpile between pitchers mound and 1B in their haste to celebrate.
      F5 recognizes that U3 has called no catch and throws to 1B. R3 takes off for home and crosses the plate. HT coach (in the 3B coach's box) begins to windmill his arms and R1 touches 2B and heads for third. F3 catches the throw from F5 and steps on 1B as R1 begins to round 3B and head for home. BR never made a legitimate attempt to advance to 1B after he squatted on the line. F3 fights his way through the mass of humanity between the mound and 1B in an effort to beat R1 to HP. R1 is tagged out about 6 feet from HP.
      Now what????
       
    • By Thunderheads
      An umpire working at a high-school seeing pitches video taped a pitcher warming up, and noticed what he was doing ....and....posted it to facebook and it's turned into an argument (shocker).    Thoughts?
      PS ... it's a big file, so it'll download on your computer and you can open it in your 'video player' from there.  If someone can embed it for me, that'd be great!
       
      Balk No Balk (1).MPG
×