Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Gfoley4

Darvish balk

Recommended Posts

https://www.mlb.com/video/embed/c-1934174883?mute=&volume=100&autostart=false&useHTML=true&siteSection=mlb_gameday&playerContext=AtBat Real-Time Highlights

Was this called because of the head movement? Darvish is pretty consistent with his "double pump" delivery with runners on, and this was the first time it's been called.   

 

Example of it not being called: https://www.mlb.com/video/sanchez-interferes-cubs-escape/c-1934136183

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
9 minutes ago, Gfoley4 said:

https://www.mlb.com/video/embed/c-1934174883?mute=&volume=100&autostart=false&useHTML=true&siteSection=mlb_gameday&playerContext=AtBat Real-Time Highlights

Was this called because of the head movement? Darvish is pretty consistent with his "double pump" delivery with runners on, and this was the first time it's been called.   

 

Example of it not being called: https://www.mlb.com/video/sanchez-interferes-cubs-escape/c-1934136183

You can't balk with your head. You can balk by hanging your leg but I didn't see that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

You can't balk with your head. You can balk by hanging your leg but I didn't see that.

Kind of looked like he stopped in the middle of his delivery to me. But that's just me.  The worst thing he did was wear a Cubs uniform.  Go Cardinals.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well Cardinals got played out back in 1967.

 

As a Cubs fan, seeing the replay right then, I think he balked, because everything stopped.

 

Watching that there again, 100%, he just paused too long, looked like he was just going to stop. I'm more convinced of the balk. Going to send it to a friend in the AM for his opinion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't like the call. Deceptive is not illegal, and something was moving at all times. I would be surprised if that was graded correct.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
41 minutes ago, maven said:

I don't like the call. Deceptive is not illegal, and something was moving at all times. I would be surprised if that was graded correct.

I like it. To me, it looked like his free foot moved towards second twice, with at least the first one breaking the plane.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Matt said:

I like it. To me, it looked like his free foot moved towards second twice, with at least the first one breaking the plane.

What would breaking the plane violate?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Jimurray said:

What would breaking the plane violate?

It doesn't violate anything in and of itself, but you have two places to put that foot afterwards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know I could argue the legalese of the move either way, but that motion just doesn't pass the eye test.  I support calling that a balk all day long.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, maven said:

I don't like the call. Deceptive is not illegal, and something was moving at all times. I would be surprised if that was graded correct.

I think the deception was in his right shoulder.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, umpstu said:

I think the deception was in his right shoulder.

Not if you ask the Houston Astros last World Series.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
59 minutes ago, umpstu said:

I think the deception was in his right shoulder.

I didn't deny that the move was deceptive. I reminded everyone that deception is not in itself illegal. He's permitted to move his right shoulder during his motion to pitch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, maven said:

I didn't deny that the move was deceptive. I reminded everyone that deception is not in itself illegal. He's permitted to move his right shoulder during his motion to pitch.

I think Stu was more taking a shot at his hated Cubbies and Dervish as a pitcher. Rather if he balked or not.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, "humor."

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, maven said:

I didn't deny that the move was deceptive. I reminded everyone that deception is not in itself illegal. He's permitted to move his right shoulder during his motion to pitch.

The right shoulder thing was the only thing I could see. Plus, he's wearing a Cubs uniform.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From a Chicago paper yesterday:  "The umpire told me it's because I paused during the motion," Darvish said through a translator.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×