Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
MadMax

BR Reverses Direction to HP, Baseball

Recommended Posts

This situation has been presented several times in "Ask the Umpire", here in Situations and in the various Levels boards. Here it is once again, though, so it can be observed and noted that the Umpire (PU) mechanics / calls the BR (in this case, Jonathan Villar of the Brewers) Out when he breaks the plane of Home Plate, not when he actually touches it (although, touching it would qualify as breaking its plane).

041118_villar_rundown_full.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
4 hours ago, MadMax said:

This situation has been presented several times in "Ask the Umpire", here in Situations and in the various Levels boards. Here it is once again, though, so it can be observed and noted that the Umpire (PU) mechanics / calls the BR (in this case, Jonathan Villar of the Brewers) Out when he breaks the plane of Home Plate, not when he actually touches it (although, touching it would qualify as breaking its plane).

041118_villar_rundown_full.gif

Or was it 3 feet or abandonment?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mr. johnnyg08, I believe this play took place in a game between the Brewers and Cardinals on April 11, 2018. Jonathan Villar was credited with an RBI on this play and that run turned out to be the winning run as the Brewers won, 3-2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Senor Azul said:

Mr. johnnyg08, I believe this play took place in a game between the Brewers and Cardinals on April 11, 2018. Jonathan Villar was credited with an RBI on this play and that run turned out to be the winning run as the Brewers won, 3-2.

Well done sir. That's the game and here's the clip:

Some good rule discussion as well as plate mechanics. Notice how PU moves to 1BLx for fair foul, then rotates 3BLx because there is a runner there who may attempt to score. 

Great clip! 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the NCAA explicitly covers this play in their rule book; in OBR or FED would you quote the "3-foot" rule or is there an Interp somewhere?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, zoops said:

I know the NCAA explicitly covers this play in their rule book; in OBR or FED would you quote the "3-foot" rule or is there an Interp somewhere?  

I believe it is an interp.

 

Screen Shot 2018-04-20 at 8.52.44 AM.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2015 NFHS Case Book play 8.1.1 Situation A:  With R1, B2 bunts to F3 who fields the ball on the first bounce near the foul line. B2 stops and reverses toward home to avoid being tagged out by F3, who then throws to F6 for a force out on R1, and the relay throw fails to retire B2 at first base. RULING:  As long as B2 did not touch or run beyond home nor leave the base path to avoid a tag, the action is legal.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×