Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest JJJJJ

Hit by Batted Ball

Question

Guest JJJJJ

Little League.  R2.  Popup hits R2 while he is standing on 2B.  Is this an out or is he protected by the bag?  Would it be different in any other rule sets?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The only time that R2 would be protected is if s/he were one of two runners in a forcible situation with less than 2 outs (Infield Fly) AND s/he did not intentionally interfere with the fielder making a catch at/on/near 2B.

 

Given your situation above,  Runner is out.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Was there also an R1 (and less than two outs)?  In that case, R2 is protected because of the infield fly rule.

Was a fielder trying to catch the ball (but missed)?  Then I'm (likely) protecting the runner and judging that the ball went "through or by a fielder".

But, if there's no R1 and no fielder, then R2 is out -- the base is not a "safe haven."

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×