Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Guest Coach

drop 3rd strike ruling

Question

Guest Guest Coach

Runner on third, two outs.  2-2 count on the batter.  Pitch is called a s trike, but the ball is dropped.  Confusion ensues, and batter does not run, but the runner from third heads home and scores.  Catcher and batter both finally realize what is happening and the hitter heads toward first but is put out.  Does the runner who crossed at home count?  I said no because it was continuing action and the third out occurred, but was overruled. 

I don't see how this play would be any different than a runner crossing home with a third out being recorded at first in any other situation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

Did the batter runner safely reach first base? The answer is no. The run can never score if the BR doesn't safely reach 1st base and is the 3rd out. 

  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
47 minutes ago, Guest Guest Coach said:

 

I don't see how this play would be any different than a runner crossing home with a third out being recorded at first in any other situation.

You "don't see" correctly. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
33 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

If I thought it was obvious I would not have asked.  ;)

 

Its not being obvious to you does not imply that it was not obvious.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×