Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest NJ Coach

Youth baseball HBP Rule ?

Question

Guest NJ Coach

Ripken league, which in most cases reflect OBR but I could be mistaken about that.  

Anyhow...pitch is inside and high, and kid ducks.   In the process of ducking he reflexively raises his arms over his head while holding the bat and is hit in the hand with the pitch.   Had he not extended his arms up, the ball would not have hit him.

Is this a ball or a strike ?   Or HBP ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

He did everything he reasonably could to get out of the way, and if there's no judged intent to get hit, it's a HBP and go to first.

It's only a strike if the ball hit the bat (foul - could conceivably be fair too), or if you judge that he actually struck at the ball (ie. attempted a swing)...or if the ball somehow went through the strike zone before hitting him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 1

At that age, that is trying to avoid being hit by the pitch.   Send them to first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×