Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest 86dreamer

Run scored on interference call

Question

Guest 86dreamer

Bases loaded 1 out. Ground ball to pitcher who throws home for force out. Catcher throws to first. Batter is called out for interference for initiating contact with the first baseman. Umpire rules that runner starting from second base crossed the plate prior to the interference call and awards a run scored to the offense.  Is it possible for the run to score here or is the interference call at firs equivalent to a force out double play?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
23 minutes ago, Guest 86dreamer said:

Bases loaded 1 out. Ground ball to pitcher who throws home for force out. Catcher throws to first. Batter is called out for interference for initiating contact with the first baseman. Umpire rules that runner starting from second base crossed the plate prior to the interference call and awards a run scored to the offense.  Is it possible for the run to score here or is the interference call at firs equivalent to a force out double play?

Please describe the play at first better - include what happened when.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
27 minutes ago, Guest 86dreamer said:

Bases loaded 1 out. Ground ball to pitcher who throws home for force out. Catcher throws to first. Batter is called out for interference for initiating contact with the first baseman. Umpire rules that runner starting from second base crossed the plate prior to the interference call and awards a run scored to the offense.  Is it possible for the run to score here or is the interference call at firs equivalent to a force out double play?

I'm having trouble picturing the runner from 2B coming around prior to a throw from F2 to F3. But anyway, assuming this is a FED game:

Rule 9 Scoring — Record Keeping SECTION 1 HOW A TEAM SCORES ART. 1 . . . A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and then home plate before there are three outs to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: a. by the batter-runner before he touches first base

So to directly address your question, no, this isn't equivalent to a force out. No run can score by rule.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
8 hours ago, ElkOil said:

I'm having trouble picturing the runner from 2B coming around prior to a throw from F2 to F3. But anyway, assuming this is a FED game:

Rule 9 Scoring — Record Keeping SECTION 1 HOW A TEAM SCORES ART. 1 . . . A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and then home plate before there are three outs to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: a. by the batter-runner before he touches first base

So to directly address your question, no, this isn't equivalent to a force out. No run can score by rule.

 

OBR (and NCAA, and, likely, all softball codes) have the same phrase as highlighted above.

 

That said, if BR reached first, and THEN interfered (it's hard, but not impossible, to see how this might happen), the run would count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest Den.

There is a similar play described in the J&R. With less than two outs, the throw to home pulls F2 off the plate ; R3 crosses the plate. F2 then tries for the out on the BR who is running out of the runner's lane and is called out for interference. Does the run count or must the runner return? The J&R says the run counts and mentions the concept of an intervening play. But, the same play with two outs the run doesn't count in spite of the intervening play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 hours ago, Guest Den. said:

There is a similar play described in the J&R. With less than two outs, the throw to home pulls F2 off the plate ; R3 crosses the plate. F2 then tries for the out on the BR who is running out of the runner's lane and is called out for interference. Does the run count or must the runner return? The J&R says the run counts and mentions the concept of an intervening play. But, the same play with two outs the run doesn't count in spite of the intervening play.

R3 crossed the plate before INT occurred and there were less than 2 outs. With 2 outs, no runs can score if the BR was put out before reaching 1B. If other runners were on base, with less than 2 outs, their bases would be determined based on where they were at the time the INT occurred. 

Which @ElkOil pointed out and highlighted. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
R3 crossed the plate before INT occurred and there were less than 2 outs. With 2 outs, no runs can score if the BR was put out before reaching 1B. If other runners were on base, with less than 2 outs, their bases would be determined based on where they were at the time the INT occurred. 
Which [mention=3475]ElkOil[/mention] pointed out and highlighted. 
 


In OBR and NCAA, runners would return TOP unless there was an intervening play. With the intervening play, it’s TOI.

In Fed, it’s TOI (except for FPSR). There is no clause for an intervening play in Fed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 hours ago, grayhawk said:

 


In OBR and NCAA, runners would return TOP unless there was an intervening play. With the intervening play, it’s TOI.

In Fed, it’s TOI (except for FPSR). There is no clause for an intervening play in Fed.

Since FED is TOI, there's no need for an intervening play clause.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×