Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Richvee

Correct me if I'm wrong....

Recommended Posts

57 minutes ago, Richvee said:

Would you agree we need to see the proximity of the two fielders to judge INT on R2, or, as @Kevin_K and @Tborze suggest, OBS on F6? 

Granted, OBS is not an answer in the OP, but I can envision a case for OBS where F5 is cutting the ball off in front of F6, misses it while F6 is behind him, and R2 runs into F6. OBS with F5 having been the protected fielder. Similar to a ground ball up the 1B line where F1 and F3 both are fielding the ball and BR contacts one. 

I picture this OP where there's ample room between F5 missing the ball and F6 fielding it, in which case I would have INT. 

Rich, if I understand your question, it seems to be more of a mechanics question than a rules question. The rules question I take to have been (more or less) settled.

Again, if I understand, you seem to ask how we judge this play. Our positioning is not going to be very flexible: this is a batted ball, and this action will happen in a heartbeat. Moreover, it's complicated by F5 booting his end of play, so whatever quick expectations we might make when the ball is hit to his left will have to be revised on the fly.

But all the speed of the play does not require us to speed up. We need to see what happens and judge hindrance, bearing in mind that on a batted ball, runner/fielder contact is virtually always something, not nothing (2 esteemed members of my association notwithstanding).

It could be a call that requires 2 umpires to piece together what they see: PU has an angle on the runner/fielder interaction, and BU has an angle on what happens with the ball. If so, it's easier to get off a call made than to first make a call after conferring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

The way the question is written both INT (c) or OBS (a) can be correct.  It also seems to make it a point that, "When the play ends, R2 is on third and B1 is on first". 

"hits a grounder in the hole at short". So F6 would be the protected fielder. INT (dead ball) 

"F5 comes over to field the ball, but it passes through his legs". F5 was protected fielder. OBS on F6. (Live ball) "when play ends...etc"

If F5 was set up to field the ball but it goes right through his legs, and R2 runs behind to avoid but runs into F6 backing up F5, I have OBS.  If all runners advance there is no reference to the OBS. Play stands.

Thoughts? 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Tborze said:

If F5 was set up to field the ball but it goes right through his legs, and R2 runs behind to avoid but runs into F6 backing up F5, I have OBS.  If all runners advance there is no reference to the OBS. Play stands.

This is interference....It's also a little HTBT. Once the ball is past F5, and F6 is trying to field it, INT. If the contact between R2 and F6 is prior to F5 missing the ball, it's OBS. That's my take. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Tborze said:

"hits a grounder in the hole at short". So F6 would be the protected fielder. INT (dead ball) 

If that's all there is to the play, agreed.

3 minutes ago, Tborze said:

"F5 comes over to field the ball, but it passes through his legs". F5 was protected fielder. OBS on F6. (Live ball) "when play ends...etc"

If we stipulate that only F5 is protected, then I agree.

6 minutes ago, Tborze said:

If F5 was set up to field the ball but it goes right through his legs, and R2 runs behind to avoid but runs into F6 backing up F5, I have OBS.  If all runners advance there is no reference to the OBS. Play stands.

Not so fast. Once the ball gets past F5, as folks have been saying, protection transfers to F6. Don't confuse the provision in the rules about the batted ball going "through or by" a fielder, which excuses the runner behind him from interference with the ball, with the provision concerning interference with a fielder. The runner is not excused from that, and as described this play starts to sound like INT.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So...... @Richvee your post heading offers more than you may have originally thought.

The question in Referee magazine could be correct as published and it is not so cut and dried in any one direction.

As many have said in the past, sometimes you just have to umpire.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, maven said:

If that's all there is to the play, agreed.

If we stipulate that only F5 is protected, then I agree.

Not so fast. Once the ball gets past F5, as folks have been saying, protection transfers to F6. Don't confuse the provision in the rules about the batted ball going "through or by" a fielder, which excuses the runner behind him from interference with the ball, with the provision concerning interference with a fielder. The runner is not excused from that, and as described this play starts to sound like INT.

In the OP  through or by would not even excuse the runner from interference with the ball unless there was a touch of the ball by F5 when it  went through his legs. Another fielder had a chance to make a play on the ball. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Kevin_K said:

So...... @Richvee your post heading offers more than you may have originally thought.

The question in Referee magazine could be correct as published and it is not so cut and dried in any one direction.

As many have said in the past, sometimes you just have to umpire.

Well, at least it stirred up some conversation while we wait for spring to arrive and get on the field. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Similar Content

    • By MR20
      Hi all, the end result of this play was called Interference. Is that the correct call?
      With the bases loaded and one out, the batter hit a grounder to 3B. The runner from 3B scored. The third basemen fielded the ball and tug 3B for the force out on the runner from 2B (for the 2nd out) and threw the ball to 1B hoping for a double play. However, the throw to 1B was errant and the batter was safe. The runner from 1B went all the way to 3B during this time.
      Here is where it gets crazy. The runner who was forced out at 3B thought he was safe and ran towards home on the errant throw. The defensive team threw home and the runner was called out (again) for the final out of the inning. The defense left the field. The offensive team realized what happened and argued that the runner couldn't be called out twice. Their stance was that the play should be ruled dead and the batter, who had gone to 2B when the defense threw home, should be returned to 1B and there should still be 2 outs.
      After a long discussion, the umpires ruled that the runner wasn't out because he was tagged out at home (the second time he'd been called out) but he was out because of interference. That was the final out and end of the inning.
      Was that the correct call? I had never seen anything like it before.
      Thank you,
      Mike
    • By johnnyg08
      R2 (stealing), R3 (not stealing)
      Batter squares to bunt and hits the catcher's mitt while trying to bunt the pitch. The plate umpire correctly calls interference on the catcher. The pitch is fouled off out of play. The umpire begins to enforce the penalty.
      Without wondering why R3 isn't stealing, but R2 is stealing state the proper enforcement below. Feel free to cite any applicable case plays, rule citations, etc...
       
       
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By jms1425
      Stumbled across this video that was posted 11 years ago (YouTube is that old??).... My initial thought was that F1 is no longer protected after the ball hit him and bounced away by more than "a step and a reach", thus this would be obstruction on F1, so BR gets 1st.
      Thoughts?
       
       
       
×