R3, less than two outs.
Ground ball to F4, but the batter's follow through hits the catcher. We have a 4-3 put out at first and run comes in to score.
A) call batter out for interference, return R3
B) this is nothing - play stands
C) call interference, return batter to plate and return R3
D) let the defense choose from B or C above?
E) something else?
Runner on third, 1 out. Ball is popped up to shallow right field. Runner does not wait for the catch and just runs home. Right fielder does not make the catch but when the runner realizes they should have waited to possibly tag up they have already touched the plate. They turn around and start running back to third thinking the RF made the catch. The RF sees the runner going back to third and throws the ball, overthrowing third. Batter eventually gets to third on the overthrow. There is an exception to the Interference rule that says just continuing to run the bases for a retired runner does not constitute interference. However, was this continuing to run? There is no call for a score so I don't think you can blame the RF for attempting the play unlike when a runner is called out. Interference or no?
8U Minor Leagues
There is a close play at 1st base. Umpire signals the runner safe. The opposing coach yells "out!" so runner steps off of 1st. The 1st basemen then tags the runner and the umpire changes his call to out. Is this coaches interference? If so, where in the Little League hand book does it address this?
NFHS JV -- R1, R2 1 out. F1 throws a wild pitch. Both runners move up, before the ball stops moving, the on-deck batter picks up and hands the ball to F2.
I (BU) call time and get together with my partner. We call R2 (now R3) out and send R1 back to first.
Were we right? or OOO?
Re:HS softball- I read NFHS to say that Obstruction (defense) can be either intentional or unintentional- it's still obstruction. However when reading about Interference (offense) they only refer to it being intentional. But I'm thinking if a baserunner collides with a fielder making the initial play on a batted ball because the runner misjudged, it would be both unintentional AND Interference, no?
R1 is on 2B and batted ball is deflected by pitcher to right side of IF. Ball is played by F4 wh goes to F3 with it. At the same time, R1 sees the deflection and takes off for 3B and SS (who has no play or effect on the outcome of the play) and R1 collide, would it be Interference or Obstruction?