Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Heave-Ho

New Student-Ump

Hey all!

My name is John, and I'm new to umpiring. I'm 14 years old, and baseball is pretty much life for me. :D I've played baseball since I was 6, mainly as a catcher. Therefore, I have a love, or hate, for umpires. I've always wanted to try, and I recently finished umpire school. I'm technically OHSAA certified, even though my age won't allow me to umpire high school. I just thought that would be a good place to learn, and I feel like I'm ready for the job. I'm going to be reading these boards a lot, and hopefully learn a little bit.

Any advice? Where is a good place to buy gear? I've been recommended to buy the OHSAA starter pack, but I don't necessarily know a good place to buy that. Hoping my first game will happen soon!

• Like 1

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Welcome, John. There's a bunch of us OHSAA folks in the forum, some former F2's like you. Frankly, F2 is a great position to move to umpire, as you're used to watching pitches come in and have a sense of the zone. Also, they're typically the smartest player on the team.

Learn the rules, master the Blue Book, ask questions.

Nice to have you!  Like Maven said, catchers are good candidates for umpires, so you've got a good foundation to build on. Hopefully, your learning will never end and like any activity, there are endless opportunities to grow and improve. There's always something to work on, rules to learn, mechanics to improve and so forth. If you read this board regularly, you'll learn a ton.

Thanks guys! I 100% agree with the catcher thing! It's nice that I'm not really worried about foul balls coming back at me, and am used to being behind the plate. I'll be ordering gear this weekend, and hopefully can get started soon. Can't wait for my first game. I was looking into this NASO thing. Can someone explain it to me, and is it worth the subscription to?