Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
BlueRanger

Totally Confused

Recommended Posts

During the pre-season meeting and field training session for my association, I was given two conflicting instructions on positioning on a fly ball situation with runners on. The situation was R1, outs irrelevant, fly ball to right-center. Instructor A said that BU stays put and watches runner and PU has the catch and 3B, but Instructor B said that BU takes fly ball and PU has runner and moves up the line to cover 3B. 

Any clarity here would be great, thanks!

LBS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Instructor "B" is correct. BU has catch/no catch and watches R1 and the touch of 2B and BR touching 1B. PU should be coming up the 3B line, letting you know he's got 3rd if the runner comes. BU #1 priority, obviously, is Catch/no catch.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's be charitable and guess that Instructor A misunderstood, and thought perhaps F9 was moving toward the line. That would make his answer right, too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, maven said:

Let's be charitable and guess that Instructor A misunderstood, and thought perhaps F9 was moving toward the line. That would make his answer right, too.

Unfortunately for instructor A, he's still wrong if the fly ball is toward the RF line. In that case he would not have R1 into 3B. 

 

4 hours ago, LoneBlueStar said:

Instructor A said that BU stays put and watches runner and PU has the catch and 3B

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Richvee said:

Unfortunately for instructor A, he's still wrong if the fly ball is toward the RF line. In that case he would not have R1 into 3B.

The phrase "PU has the catch and 3B" is ambiguous, and might mean merely that PU has R1's touch of 3B, not plays on him. And that's correct.

In any case, I think that we've exhaustively gone through the proper mechanics for this play here, which should clarify matters for the OP.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What size field mechanics are you learning? On 60' PU has all fly balls to the outfield... 90... different story.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/7/2018 at 6:02 PM, LoneBlueStar said:

During the pre-season meeting and field training session for my association, I was given two conflicting instructions on positioning on a fly ball situation with runners on. The situation was R1, outs irrelevant, fly ball to right-center. Instructor A said that BU stays put and watches runner and PU has the catch and 3B, but Instructor B said that BU takes fly ball and PU has runner and moves up the line to cover 3B. 

Any clarity here would be great, thanks!

LBS

Instructor B is correct, but the Plate Umpire on a fly ball will mirror R1. As soon as the ball drops for a base hit, the PU should communicate, "I've got third if he comes." 

If the ball is caught, the BU should glance over his right shoulder after all the requirements of the catch are completed and look to see if R1 tagged up properly (if he does tag). If the R1 does tag, then the BU will take the play into second base. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, Mudisfun said:

What size field mechanics are you learning? On 60' PU has all fly balls to the outfield... 90... different story.

Unfortunately, all of them :D. Our association wants us to use the 90 mechanics on every field...

But thanks for everyone's help! This makes much more sense now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ouch... inside mechanics on a 60' field... not fun.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
58 minutes ago, Mudisfun said:

Ouch... inside mechanics on a 60' field... not fun.

Good luck making sure those runners aren't leaving early.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That... and dodging out of the way of an in-rushing F6.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did exactly one 60 foot game last year.......One too many???? :cool:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/9/2018 at 6:47 AM, LoneBlueStar said:

Unfortunately, all of them :D. Our association wants us to use the 90 mechanics on every field...

But thanks for everyone's help! This makes much more sense now.

Be sure to wear your cup !!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/12/2018 at 6:03 AM, noumpere said:

As opposed to wearing someone else's cup?   Ewww!

Little League Big league game, I ask the catcher, 'got your cup?'....he answers....'OH right....(yells to the bench)...Who has THE cup??"

 

  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/14/2018 at 12:30 PM, blue23ll said:

Little League Big league game, I ask the catcher, 'got your cup?'....he answers....'OH right....(yells to the bench)...Who has THE cup??"

 

There is a long and humorous back story to this, best told over a cold adult beverage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×