Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
johnnyg08

Neoprene Sleeve

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

It seems clear to me.

 

Now I do recognize that some small D-3 or JuCo conference assigner might want this rule ignored.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a pitcher tries entering the game with only one neoprene sleeve, he has a choice.  Take it off, or put on long sleeves to cover it.  Wearing only one neoprene sleeve makes the sleeves different lengths, violating the rule.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Up here in Canada, our national baseball body came out with its clarification in 2017

3.03 (b) and (e) All players, including pitchers, are permitted to wear compression sleeves on one or both arms. If only wearing one, it may be worn on either the pitching or glove arm.  A compression sleeve extending only to the elbow shall have the same restrictions as a compression sleeve extending to the wrist.  Pitchers must wear compression sleeves which are solid in colour and may not be white or grey. Pitchers may not wear compression sleeves which are distracting in nature including designs and reflective material.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/27/2018 at 10:46 PM, Elmhurstbob said:

If a pitcher tries entering the game with only one neoprene sleeve, he has a choice.  Take it off, or put on long sleeves to cover it.  Wearing only one neoprene sleeve makes the sleeves different lengths, violating the rule.

 

That is wrong.. you cant have just one sleeve on.. either 2 or none.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Haid D' Salaami said:

That is wrong.. you cant have just one sleeve on.. either 2 or none.

isn't that what @Elmhurstbob said the rule was? Or are you saying you have to wear two neoprene sleeves of equal lengths, not one covered by an equal length undershirt sleeve and another equal length sleeve of the same, hopefully, undershirt on the other arm? And is @johnnyg08 saying he has proof of the this rule being ignored at the D1 level. But, what if the one sleeve is not neoprene but a hi tech compression fabric?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Haid D' Salaami said:

That is wrong.. you cant have just one sleeve on.. either 2 or none.

unless an undershirt covers them.  I can't call what I can't see!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/29/2018 at 11:15 PM, Jimurray said:

isn't that what @Elmhurstbob said the rule was? Or are you saying you have to wear two neoprene sleeves of equal lengths, not one covered by an equal length undershirt sleeve and another equal length sleeve of the same, hopefully, undershirt on the other arm? And is @johnnyg08 saying he has proof of the this rule being ignored at the D1 level. But, what if the one sleeve is not neoprene but a hi tech compression fabric?

fyi.. I only work D1 baseball ( im not trying to brag, just stating it)  I enforce on every field... SEC...CUSA...CAA..Big South..any field i walk on. that way when the coordinator calls me and ask why i didnt enforce the rule, i have no come back. enforce like it says.. Just like FPSR. get every single one, even the small ones where they just miss the base. alot of our games are on tv, and I cant explain the ruling when TV clearly shows it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think people are making this too complicated.

1. A pitcher's neoprene sleeves must be covered by an undershirt.

2. Any undershirt must have sleeves approximately the same length.

Therefore, if there's an undershirt with same-length sleeves, and no sleeve visible underneath them, he is good to go. He can wear zero, one, or two neoprene sleeves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Matt said:

 

1. A pitcher's neoprene sleeves must be covered by an undershirt.

2. Any undershirt must have sleeves approximately the same length.

Therefore, if there's an undershirt with same-length sleeves, and no sleeve visible underneath them, he is good to go. He can wear zero, one, or two neoprene sleeves.

Why can't rules be written like this? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/31/2018 at 9:21 AM, Richvee said:

Why can't rules be written like this? 

Cause @Matt isn't an attorney. (Unless he is... then the reason is cause he isn't THE attorney that wrote the rule.)

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this is the collegiate forum, but NFHS has the same rule of individual players having sleeves of the same length...Just scrolling through our state's website and found this beauty. Isn't this in DIRECT conflict with NFHS rules?!?48d58467ef45ff61eeb52d1b39327640.jpg

 

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you're confusing sleeves of the uniform with compression sleeves. Uniform sleeves need to be the same length. Not so for compression sleeves in FED.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, txump81 said:

I know this is the collegiate forum, but NFHS has the same rule of individual players having sleeves of the same length...Just scrolling through our state's website and found this beauty. Isn't this in DIRECT conflict with NFHS rules?!?48d58467ef45ff61eeb52d1b39327640.jpg

 

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

You should scroll thru and read the NFHS caseplays and interps about this to realize that Texas has it right in this case. But they do have something about butting up against the rubber (totally unrelated to this post but just saying that not all State interps are correct) on their website that might or might not be correct.

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×