Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Recommended Posts

Seeking info and feedback regarding the few questions I got wrong. Read below.

1. A force is reinstated when a runner retreats past the base to which he was forced to advance. T or F I marked False due to a runner who passes a base needing to be tagged upon returning. Unless I am misinterpreting the question. Correct answer is TRUE

2. No outs, R3 on third and R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B4 interferes with F2, but F2's throw gets R1 out. During the play at second, R3 scores. B4's interference is ignored and R3 scores. T or F. I put false due to the interference from my understanding runners return back their base start of pitch. Correct answer is TRUE. What if R1 gets caught in a rundown because hes thrown out by a mile? Kill it if first attempt is not successful?

3. A coach physically assisting a runner during playing action is interference. T or F. I put TRUE and apparently its false.

 

Any feedback is welcome.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
11 minutes ago, Jglopez7 said:

Seeking info and feedback regarding the few questions I got wrong. Read below.

1. A force is reinstated when a runner retreats past the base to which he was forced to advance. T or F I marked False due to a runner who passes a base needing to be tagged upon returning. Unless I am misinterpreting the question. Correct answer is TRUE

2. No outs, R3 on third and R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B4 interferes with F2, but F2's throw gets R1 out. During the play at second, R3 scores. B4's interference is ignored and R3 scores. T or F. I put false due to the interference from my understanding runners return back their base start of pitch. Correct answer is TRUE. What if R1 gets caught in a rundown because hes thrown out by a mile? Kill it if first attempt is not successful?

3. A coach physically assisting a runner during playing action is interference. T or F. I put TRUE and apparently its false.

 

Any feedback is welcome.

 

1. It appears you overthought the question.

2. It appears you overthought the question. If the INITIAL throw retires the runner the INT is ignored.

3. True would be the correct answer to your statement but we would have to see the exact wording on your test. Which is available to you to copy and paste from the check your results page.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I copy and pasted all questions. I believe I might have overthought them as well.

5 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

1. It appears you overthought the question.

2. It appears you overthought the question. If the INITIAL throw retires the runner the INT is ignored.

3. True would be the correct answer to your statement but we would have to see the exact wording on your test. Which is available to you to copy and paste from the check your results page.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Jglopez7 said:

I copy and pasted all questions. I believe I might have overthought them as well.

 

in #3 maybe they want to emphasize that the call and out is made immediately and the ball stays alive and it is not actually included in the Interference defintion. I call it coach interference from some OBR reference but maybe that is inaccurate. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Jimurray said:

in #3 maybe they want to emphasize that the call and out is made immediately and the ball stays alive and it is not actually included in the Interference defintion. I call it coach interference from some OBR reference but maybe that is inaccurate. 

This *IS* listed under interference in the definitions section of the rules (at least it was in 2016 -- my last year of books).

 

On the first question -- I think, based on his comments in the OP,  jlopez did not properly read it -- the runner has retreated back past the base (so,  R1 is forced, touches second, goes beyond second, retreats to second, retreats toward first) -- the force is reinstated.

 

Otherwise, he learned something from the first two questions -- and that's part of the purpose of the test.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

This *IS* listed under interference in the definitions section of the rules (at least it was in 2016 -- my last year of books).

 

On the first question -- I think, based on his comments in the OP,  jlopez did not properly read it -- the runner has retreated back past the base (so,  R1 is forced, touches second, goes beyond second, retreats to second, retreats toward first) -- the force is reinstated.

 

Otherwise, he learned something from the first two questions -- and that's part of the purpose of the test.

"c. Coach physically assists ......." has dissappeared from the definitions of INT in the 2018 rulebook without fanfare, probably for the rationale I supposed. So he and I learned something from #3 also after a bit of digging.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NFHS 2017 Baseball Rules Changes

The rules committee also approved an addition to Rule 8-4-2, which states that any runner is out when he is physically assisted by a coach. This rule change supports a revision in Rule 3-2-2 Penalty, which states that the runner shall be called out immediately when he is physically assisted by a coach.

SITUATION 14: With runners on second and third, and a fly ball is hit deep to right field, the third-base coach grabs the third base runner’s shirt to force him to tag properly. The runner from second base legally tags as the ball is caught. Both runners, during the course of the play, score. RULING: The runner at third base is called out immediately when the coach physically assisted him in tagging properly. Play continues and the run scored by the second-base runner will count. (3-2-2 Penalty, 8-4-2s)

SITUATION 15: With runners on first and third, a ball is hit to center field. The coach physically holds the runner up at third base until he sees that the fly ball is not caught. The runner from first base is later thrown out as he attempted to advance to third base. RULING: The runner at third base is immediately called out when the third-base coach physically prevented him from advancing until he knew if the fly ball was caught. Play continues and the first-base runner’s out at third base stands. (3-2-2 Penalty, 8-4-2s)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Senor Azul said:

NFHS 2017 Baseball Rules Changes

The rules committee also approved an addition to Rule 8-4-2, which states that any runner is out when he is physically assisted by a coach. This rule change supports a revision in Rule 3-2-2 Penalty, which states that the runner shall be called out immediately when he is physically assisted by a coach.

SITUATION 14: With runners on second and third, and a fly ball is hit deep to right field, the third-base coach grabs the third base runner’s shirt to force him to tag properly. The runner from second base legally tags as the ball is caught. Both runners, during the course of the play, score. RULING: The runner at third base is called out immediately when the coach physically assisted him in tagging properly. Play continues and the run scored by the second-base runner will count. (3-2-2 Penalty, 8-4-2s)

SITUATION 15: With runners on first and third, a ball is hit to center field. The coach physically holds the runner up at third base until he sees that the fly ball is not caught. The runner from first base is later thrown out as he attempted to advance to third base. RULING: The runner at third base is immediately called out when the third-base coach physically prevented him from advancing until he knew if the fly ball was caught. Play continues and the first-base runner’s out at third base stands. (3-2-2 Penalty, 8-4-2s)

Prior to 2017 the ball was delayed dead and runners returned TOI if not put out. But most of us would call the out at the time of the assistance. In 2017 they clarified that the out would be called immediately and ball left live but they neglected to remove 2-21-1-c and revise the DDB Table. In 2018 they cleaned up the DDB Table and dissappeared 2-21-1-c. Interestingly, NCAA does not call the out until the end of playing action, so you might have a "to be retired" R3 played on at HP on a tag up depending on whether involved fielders saw the umpire point the infraction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So if it's not "INT" what do we call? "PAR" (physically assisting runner) :mad:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Similar Content

    • By Jglopez7
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SiUZIJ7Z5U
    • By Jglopez7
      See the video of my call of RLI. What do y’all think? 
       
    • By Scotty_Ump
      http://www.seacoastonline.com/news/20180411/parent-baseball-coaches-talked-of-beaning-daughter
      DURHAM, NH -- Police said they are looking into allegations made by a parent of a baseball player in the Oyster River Youth Association (ORYA), who claims two coaches conspired on a plan to injure his daughter in an attempt to intimidate her and force her to quit the league.
      Durham Deputy Police Chief Rene Kelly said the department is aware of the situation, but as of Tuesday had not decided whether to launch an investigation.
      In an email to ORYA board of directors Chair Ben Genes, Dan Klein, of Madbury, alleges that two coaches said they would instruct a player to “bean” Klein’s daughter -- strike her in the head with a baseball during practice -- in order to intimidate her into leaving the baseball program. The conversation allegedly took place during a draft meeting to assign players to team rosters. That meeting was held, according to Klein’s email, on March 21 at Libby’s Bar & Grill in Durham.
      According to Klein, his 11-year-old daughter is the only girl enrolled to play on a team in her division. He said in the email he was informed his daughter was the last player drafted.
      The email, dated April 7, was also sent to several members of the ORYA board of directors, the Madbury Select Board, Durham Town Council and Oyster River Cooperative School District Board, Lee town administrators, Durham Town Administrator Todd Selig and Durham Parks and Recreation Director Rachel Gasowski.
      Klein said he was made aware of the alleged conversation by two other coaches who also attended the draft meeting -- Troy Brisard and Kirk O’Quinn -- who found the discussion about Klein’s daughter to be inappropriate. Klein said O’Quinn agreed to put Klein’s daughter onto his roster.
      In a phone interview with Seacoast Media Group on Tuesday, Klein said he did not reach out to police, nor is he necessarily seeking any retribution against the accused coaches.
      “I’m not on the board -- it’s not my place to say what’s right for them,” Klein said. “I hope that this sort of thing doesn’t happen again, and that kids will be protected from this sort of language and be safe.”
      ORYA Director Matthew Glode said the association is conducting an investigation into the alleged comments.
      “In fairness to everyone involved, we have no further comment until the investigation is completed,” Glode said in an email.
      Klein said his daughter has played baseball and T-ball with ORYA since 2012 and has enjoyed it, mostly without incident. When she began playing, Klein said, she had several teammates who were girls, but that number dwindled over the years as many girls her age switched to softball.
      Klein said he has served ORYA in various capacities over the years, including as a coach. He said he is not now involved in ORYA in any capacity other than being the parent of a participant. In his email, he referenced a 2015 quarrel he said he had with an ORYA board member that may have led to lingering animosity, and as a result, motivated the alleged threats against his daughter last month.
      In a recent email chain forwarded to Seacoast Media Group, Genes wrote to Klein thanking him for coming forward with the complaint concerning his daughter.
      “ORYA will immediately address the incident in our baseball program and move to ensure our program is 100% compliant with our policies,” Genes wrote in the email, dated April 8. “I will contact Troy (Brisard) and Kirk (O’Quinn) to followup on the details referenced. Please let me know if you have any questions.”
      In an email to Selig dated April 9, Genes said that the ORYA board had already “taken specific action” related to Klein’s complaint, but it is not known what that action is and whether it is the investigation Glode said was underway.
      ″(Such) that all sports activities for his daughter are safe and welcoming,” Genes wrote. “We are now beginning a formal investigation into the incident as per our policies and procedures and will provide a summary followup to all our stakeholders.”
      Email messages left on Tuesday for Genes, Brisard and O’Quinn, seeking further comment were not returned. Their phone numbers were not immediately available.
    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Wanted confirmation of a ruling we made from a Varsity Fed game from Monday.
      Bases loaded, outs don't matter.
      Chopper to 1st base, he comes home with the throw to try and get the force, but the ball isn't it time and hits either the catcher or batter (unsure) and deflects into the dugout.
      2 base award from TOP? This is what we ended up doing. I was thinking this is correct since the deflection was not intentional or a secondary action.
       
    • By umpirebrianc
      Our annual Umpire Clinic in Tyler TX is being held Jan 26-28, 2018.  Marvin Hudson, 2016 World Series Umpire along with Clint Fagan MLB Rover and others will be instructors.  Also present DII, NAIA and JUCO assignors.  Both 3 man and 2 man options available.  Go to www.umpireclinics.com for details or email umpireclinics@gmail.com for any questions.
×