Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Guest Ump

Passing Runner

Question

Guest Guest Ump

There is a thread going around facebook on a play that a lot of people are having a hard time finding the correct ruling on, for the ones who have not seen it here is the situation.  This play is for NFHS rule only, we all know the answer in NCAA or OBR.

 

-Bottom 7th (last inning) 2-2 score, 2 outs with a runner on first (R1).  Batter hits a long fly ball to right field, R1 turns to watch to see if its going out, batter knows it outs and runs in excitement and runs past R1.  Umpire calls batter/runner out for passing R1.  Is the game over or are we going to extra innings.  In other words does R1 run still count if he continues around the bases.  In NCAA and OBR this would be the 3rd out and timing play, R1 would not score.  What is the ruling in NFHS, it has been a debate the last few days.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
4 hours ago, Guest Guest Ump said:

There is a thread going around facebook on a play that a lot of people are having a hard time finding the correct ruling on, for the ones who have not seen it here is the situation.  This play is for NFHS rule only, we all know the answer in NCAA or OBR.

 

-Bottom 7th (last inning) 2-2 score, 2 outs with a runner on first (R1).  Batter hits a long fly ball to right field, R1 turns to watch to see if its going out, batter knows it outs and runs in excitement and runs past R1.  Umpire calls batter/runner out for passing R1.  Is the game over or are we going to extra innings.  In other words does R1 run still count if he continues around the bases.  In NCAA and OBR this would be the 3rd out and timing play, R1 would not score.  What is the ruling in NFHS, it has been a debate the last few days.

I have yet to see ANY runs score after the last out of the game is made.  Maybe I wasn't watching closely enough though.............

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×