Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
David3

Pitcher shall notify the Windup position

Recommended Posts

If a pitcher's Windup position is very similar to a set position with runner/s on bases he has to announce this windup pitching to umpires under rule 5.07(a)(2) Comment. Is there a balk if he announces Windup and uses the set motion?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
3 hours ago, David3 said:

If a pitcher's Windup position is very similar to a set position with runner/s on bases he has to announce this windup pitching to umpires under rule 5.07(a)(2) Comment. Is there a balk if he announces Windup and uses the set motion?

If he stretches to a stop with leg motion that would be a balk. If he just puts his hands together that could be considered a preliminary windup move. A windup pitcher does not have to "wind up" so without any preliminary foot stretch a pitcher putting his hands together then could do a normal sidways windup or just rear back and throw. Might present problems if enough guys tried to game the system but right now there there are just a few in MLB.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, David3 said:

If a pitcher's Windup position is very similar to a set position with runner/s on bases he has to announce this windup pitching to umpires under rule 5.07(a)(2) Comment. Is there a balk if he announces Windup and uses the set motion?

If he announces windup just treat it as windup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

If he announces windup just treat it as windup.

With R3, depending on the pitchers normal set and windup motions, a free foot move could entice R3 to open or steal. The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground in the windup except as part of his normal pitching motion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Jimurray said:

With R3, depending on the pitchers normal set and windup motions, a free foot move could entice R3 to open or steal. The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground in the windup except as part of his normal pitching motion.

He announced windup. The runners know it. Treat it as such.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

He announced windup. The runners know it. Treat it as such.

Exactly, so if he starts his windup, such as initiating a free foot move to a set position and stops it's a balk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, Jimurray said:

Exactly, so if he starts his windup, such as initiating a free foot move to a set position and stops it's a balk

That's not what you said.  You said "The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground in the windup except as part of his normal pitching motion"

A pitcher can pick from windup so the foot movement isn't necessarily the start of a pitch. You also need to raise the pivot foot to step off.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

That's not what you said.  You said "The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground in the windup except as part of his normal pitching motion"

A pitcher can pick from windup so the foot movement isn't necessarily the start of a pitch. You also need to raise the pivot foot to step off.

"Shall not raise either foot from the ground, except...." is in the rule and the rulemakers did not envision your semantic argument that a pitcher in the windup has to raise a foot to pick or step off. We allow that of course but my application of the rule wording is in reference to the OP and a possible foot movement that would deceive R3 into thinking the windup had started. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By jms1425
      My apologies if this was posted before, but I can't find it. What is the violation here?
       
       
    • By clawdad
       This happened during a game one of my fellow umpires was working. I was asked the question on whether this is a balk or not. Hopefully I can describe it well enough for you all to give me your thoughts.  I wasn't there, so this is based on how it was described to me.
      NFHS:  F1 starts in the stretch, leaning in to get his signs.  Once he does, he begins to come set.  During his motion to come set, his non pivot foot comes to a complete stop, but the F1 continued to bounce his hands (still together) up and down in front of his body from about navel to sternum.  After a couple of bounces, he comes to a complete & discernible stop prior to delivering the pitch. A balk was called, because - I was told - the hand movement did not constitute one continuous motion. 
      I was under the impression that as long as something was moving during the motion to come set then it was part of "one continuous motion."  If he had paused completely at some point and then did the hand bounce, I can see the balk for a double set.  But since the hands were moving from his initial move to come set, he was OK as long as he came to a complete stop prior to delivery.  If there was no complete stop then you could get the no-stop balk.
      Is this a balk?  I think there is a MLB pitcher who does something similar, but I can't think of his name.
      Thanks for the input.
    • By HMax
      Fed rules.  RHP.  R1 and R2 with one out.  F3 is playing behind runner at 1st (F1).  F1 steps and throws to 1B.  Throw is not to F3, but is straight at the bag.  F3 does not catch the pick-off, but does is quickly into possession after ball hits wall close to 1B.  Is this a balk in the FED book?
    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Had 2 different situations in our game tonight I want to ask the group and see if we did it right. FED Varsity.
      Situation 1
      Visiting Team is batting. #12 is up to bat with a 3-0 count. Home team coach comes and out and mentions "The lineup says #19 is supposed to be at bat, they don't have a #12 on the lineup anywhere." The coach wanted an out which was incorrect no matter what since even if it was an incorrect batter, the correct batter would take over the count. 
      I ruled that he had the proper name of the player written even if he had written the wrong number down and therefore he was the proper batter. Is this correct?
      Situation 2
      Runner on 2nd. Runner breaks for 3rd. Pitcher steps and throws to 3rd without disengaging. My partner ruled this a balk. I thought you could step and throw to an unoccupied base for the purposes of making a play without disengaging. What's the correct ruling here? We stuck with his call since I wasn't positive.
      And for a fun way to start, we had to eject a player in the bottom of the 1st inning. R1 got in a rundown between 1st and 2nd on a pickoff. Ended up being tagged around the head/face area and didn't like it but the play was fine. No MC or intent, just a baseball play. I was PU. R1 got in the face of the kid who tagged him. My partner broke them up and warned them both to not say another word. As R1 is going back towards his dugout he yells for the whole park to hear "tell him not to hit me in the f-ing face."  I promptly acknowledged his desire to no longer participate.
×