Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest Dave K

Play continued after third out

Question

Guest Dave K

Visiting team and umpire lost track of outs. Our batter struck out for the third out. Our next hitter approached batters box and everyone let play continue. Three pitches were thrown, the second was a wild pitch and a run scored. Then everyone huddled and realized the error and disallowed the run. Was that correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
On ‎10‎/‎22‎/‎2017 at 3:36 PM, Guest Dave K said:

Visiting team and umpire lost track of outs. Our batter struck out for the third out. Our next hitter approached batters box and everyone let play continue. Three pitches were thrown, the second was a wild pitch and a run scored. Then everyone huddled and realized the error and disallowed the run. Was that correct?

Would the extra pitches that were thrown go against the pitchers pitch count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, JoeC said:

Would the extra pitches that were thrown go against the pitchers pitch count?

Interesting question. Here in NJ, under our FED pitching rules, I'd say no, since the pitches "didn't count". There's no written rule or case play for this, but for our state I'd base it on the fact that if a pitch is thrown and a balk is called, the pitch is not added to F1's pitch count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×