Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
ricka56

Hit em with the old 7.13(2)

Recommended Posts

44 minutes ago, zm1283 said:

I have seen all of these. There was a video shown in the last couple of years that showed a catcher field a throw with a runner trying to score and stick his left leg out into the runner's path and redirect him off his path to keep him from touching the plate. They talked about it and said it should be obstruction even though he was in the act of fielding a throw. I tried to find it but will keep looking. 

Edit: I don't know how to save NCAA videos off the Arbiter, but I can tell you which one to watch. Go back to videos from 4/5/15. There is one titled "Obstruction at HP New Interp" and it is 5:29 long

I've seen that video. I thought it made sense. It is at odds with the more NCAA video current interps. I might have referenced the conflict in an earlier thread. I think I did screen grabs of similar plays from the videos, intending to post the conflict. Can't remember if I did or just mentioned the conflict a previous post. But, currently, NCAA has made it clear to me and @humanbackstop19 that that is how they want it called. Whether that filtered down to the rank and file, many of whom do not even pay their money to see the info on the site and just depend on their assignor/paycheck's interps to rule, I don't know. BTW, this conflicting interp should not be a reason to not pay your money, not take their tests for any umpire doing JUCO, D1-3 ball. But many do not avail themselves and their assignors don't care. I do know this: Making sense of the MLB/OBR and NCAA rule verbiage is a lawyers dream, except for @lawump.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
1 minute ago, Jimurray said:

I've seen that video. I thought it made sense. It is at odds with the more NCAA video current interps. I might have referenced the conflict in an earlier thread. I think I did screen grabs of similar plays from the videos, intending to post the conflict. Can't remember if I did or just mentioned the conflict a previous post. But, currently, NCAA has made it clear to me and @humanbackstop19 that that is how they want it called. Whether that filtered down to the rank and file, many of whom do not even pay their money to see the info on the site and just depend on their assignor/paycheck's interps to rule, I don't know. BTW, this conflicting interp should not be a reason to not pay your money, not take their tests for any umpire doing JUCO, D1-3 ball.  I do know this: Making sense of the MLB/OBR and NCAA rule verbiage is a lawyers dream, except for @lawump.

Makes sense. I just don't remember a video or interp from 2016 or 2017 when the new home plate rule has been in effect that reversed this interp from 2015, and I register with the NCAA every year. I was under the impression that this is still a good interp even though the collision/slide rule was altered. I would be interested to see something official from the NCAA though. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, zm1283 said:

Makes sense. I just don't remember a video or interp from 2016 or 2017 when the new home plate rule has been in effect that reversed this interp from 2015, and I register with the NCAA every year. I was under the impression that this is still a good interp even though the collision/slide rule was altered. I would be interested to see something official from the NCAA though. 

What's not official about Drouches verbal in the explanations of the video on the NCAA website? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Jimurray said:

What's not official about Drouches verbal in the explanations of the video on the NCAA website? 

Which video? I can't find anywhere where they say it is now legal to redirect the runner with the leg of the catcher even after receiving the ball, which is what Contreras did and what was done in the video I referenced above. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
48 minutes ago, zm1283 said:

Which video? I can't find anywhere where they say it is now legal to redirect the runner with the leg of the catcher even after receiving the ball, which is what Contreras did and what was done in the video I referenced above. 

I see no redirection. I see a legal block in both NCAA 2017 videos and the illegal  OBR:/MLB OP which would be legal in NCAA. The redirect video is not the current interp as far as I can tell. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/17/2017 at 11:01 PM, Jimurray said:

I see no redirection. I see a legal block in both NCAA 2017 videos and the illegal  OBR:/MLB OP which would be legal in NCAA. The redirect video is not the current interp as far as I can tell. 

I see that @humanbackstop19 has given me a like today on this post. Which must mean that he has viewed slide #8 in the NCAA online clinic where they allow the catcher to block the plate "in this manner" when in the act of fielding the ball.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/17/2018 at 2:40 PM, Jimurray said:

I see that @humanbackstop19 has given me a like today on this post. Which must mean that he has viewed slide #8 in the NCAA online clinic where they allow the catcher to block the plate "in this manner" when in the act of fielding the ball.

http://ncaabaseball.arbitersports.com/front/105039/Video/player/13995/17041

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×