Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
stkjock

Walk off run with "unauthorized" player on field

Question

Had a friend pose this question to me and I don't know and cannot find a answer in OBR after searching.

 

R3, ball hit into outfield for clean single, BR touches first, as R3 comes down the line, players from the 3B dugout come running on the field, one crosses into fair territory just before R3 scores.  The player was maybe 1-2' onto the field when he stopped as he realized he probably shouldn't have been there, he did not interfere at all, the throw comes home well after R3 scores and well up 1B line.

 

so the question is, is there any penalty for the wining team with the player on the field before he should have been?  my guess based on my understanding of the rules, is that this is more of a "don't do that" thing.

 

Thanks all.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, stkjock said:

Had a friend pose this question to me and I don't know and cannot find a answer in OBR after searching.

 

R3, ball hit into outfield for clean single, BR touches first, as R3 comes down the line, players from the 3B dugout come running on the field, one crosses into fair territory just before R3 scores.  The player was maybe 1-2' onto the field when he stopped as he realized he probably shouldn't have been there, he did not interfere at all, the throw comes home well after R3 scores and well up 1B line.

 

so the question is, is there any penalty for the wining team with the player on the field before he should have been?  my guess based on my understanding of the rules, is that this is more of a "don't do that" thing.

 

Thanks all.

 

 

No penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
1 hour ago, stkjock said:

so the question is, is there any penalty for the wining team with the player on the field before he should have been?  

Not in the case stated in the OP.

NFHS 3-3-1. A coach, player, substitute, attendant or other bench personnel shall not:

a. leave the dugout during a live ball for an unauthorized purpose;

PENALTY:  At the end of playing action, the umpire shall issue a warning to the coach of the team involved and the next offender on that team shall be ejected. In (b), it is also obstruction (8-3-2).

1 hour ago, stkjock said:

my guess based on my understanding of the rules, is that this is more of a "don't do that" thing.

Good guess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×