Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest IAmMako

Force Play

Question

Guest IAmMako

So I have a situation that happened in a game I was umpiring in today and I am still not sure if I made the right call. Here is the situation: Runners on first and third, 1 out, ball is hit to the right fielder as a pop fly and is caught. 1st base forgets to tag up, 3rd tags up and runs home. By the time the first base runner realizes he needs to tag up the ball is waiting for him and he is out, but the runner from 3rd scored before the out. Does the run count or no? I ruled it as no run scored due to the force out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
57 minutes ago, Guest IAmMako said:

Runners on first and third, 1 out, ball is hit to the right fielder as a pop fly and is caught. 

Two outs.  This out of the BR (batter-runner) broke the sequence of runners so there is no chance for a subsequent "force out."

57 minutes ago, Guest IAmMako said:

1st base forgets to tag up, 3rd tags up and runs home. By the time the first base runner realizes he needs to tag up the ball is waiting for him and he is out, but the runner from 3rd scored before the out. 

Three outs.  This out on R1 (runner who started at 1B) is a "time" play (actually an appeal by the defense that R1 failed to re-touch 1B after the BR's fly ball was first touched) and, because it's the third out of that half-inning, no run may score after the "time" that it occurred. 

59 minutes ago, Guest IAmMako said:

Does the run count or no? I ruled it as no run scored due to the force out.

Yes, because R3 (runner who started at 3B) touched home plate BEFORE the precise time that the defense successfully appealed R1 failed to re-touch 1B. 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
4 hours ago, Guest IAmMako said:

So I have a situation that happened in a game I was umpiring in today and I am still not sure if I made the right call. Here is the situation: Runners on first and third, 1 out, ball is hit to the right fielder as a pop fly and is caught. 1st base forgets to tag up, 3rd tags up and runs home. By the time the first base runner realizes he needs to tag up the ball is waiting for him and he is out, but the runner from 3rd scored before the out. Does the run count or no? I ruled it as no run scored due to the force out.

Failure to tag is NOT a force play. NOT. You can NEVER be forced to retreat.

It is an appeal play. The out happens at the time of the appeal.  Anything that happened before that time is valid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I really need to make a macro that types out the answer to this question with a single key binding....

The OP has been umpiring his whole career (however long that may be) based on this common myth regarding "force plays" (that it's a "force" if the fielder can tag the base instead of the runner—NOT the definition). I hope it occurs to him to wonder how many more common myths he is using, instead of learning the actual rules.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×