Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Stuart

1 out, 2 runners double off

Question

Guest Stuart

There's a runner on 2 & 3 with one out.  batter hits a fly ball to shortstop that is caught but both runners double off. Runner at third crosses plate without tagging up and we elect to throw back to second to get the out from 2 not tagging up.  Did the run from 3 count since she did not tag up as well.  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
43 minutes ago, Guest Stuart said:

There's a runner on 2 & 3 with one out.  batter hits a fly ball to shortstop that is caught but both runners double off. Runner at third crosses plate without tagging up and we elect to throw back to second to get the out from 2 not tagging up.  Did the run from 3 count since she did not tag up as well.  

 

The run counts -- for now.  The play at second is a time play, and since the run crossed before the appeal was made, the run scores (the "time" for scoring the run is the time the appeal is made -- not the time either runner leaves the base).

 

But, you could still appeal at third to get an "advantageous fourth out" that would negate the run (assuming the infielders are still in fair territory)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Assuming this is softball ("she" did not tag up...), there is one minor addition to @noumpere's response.  You are allowed verbal dead ball appeals in most (if not all) rule sets of softball.  So, the coach arguing that the runner left third early as well could (should?) be construed as an appeal, and the fourth out applied.  However, the statement about the infielders still being in fair territory when that argument/appeal occurs would still apply.   If everyone leaves the field then the coach argues/appeals it, the run counts.

 

Also - a minor critique:

Both runners "leave early"...or "fail to tag up"....or "fail to retouch".   They don't double off.

The runner on second was doubled off when you made the appeal play....ie. you made a double play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×