Weight Loss Group

JSam21
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 2021 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

So coming out of the Mid-American Umpire Clinic, the biggest thing on my evals was Appearance/Weight that was going to keep me from college baseball. So I've made myself a goal of losing 50 lbs in the next 6 months. I do have a gym membership and have began to track my caloric intake with My Fitness Pal, trying to keep it between 1800-2000/day. What other steps would you guys suggest? Money is fairly tight for me so the $100+ a month supplement stacks are out for me. 

Also wanted to use this as kind of a support group for guys that are also trying to slim down for umpiring. Keep motivating each other and pushing each other to keep going. 

• Like 1

I'm no expert. Bought a bow flex Max trainer last year. I'm sure there's a similar machine at your gym.

20 minutes on this 3x a week gets the heart pumping and the sweat glands pouring.

As far as food, I've never been much for counting stuff. I just watch the carbs and sugar intake.it seems to work well. Stay away from the white bread, pasta, cereal, soda, bad snacks. Read labels. Lots of carbs = stay away.  Drink water. My go to flavored drink these days is Turkey Hill diet green tea. 0 carbs, zero sugar and I like the taste. Fruit and nuts for snacks.

I'm 6'0. I've gone from 240 to 210 in less than a year. Feel better too. Still have more to go, but it's working. Probably could have been better/faster results if I didn't "cheat".  I don't back away from a good Sunday lasagna with the family or a Friday night pizza.  I think if you're to strict you fall off the program easier. I've found personally that if I don't make the "program" difficult,  just attainable and livable, it's easier to maintain.

Good Luck!!

• Like 3

JSam: