My question is simple - I know that when the first throw by an infielder goes out of play, the award is two bases from the time of pitch (assuming the B.R. and other runners didn't advance one base when the throw was made), but what if the throw is made by a shifted second baseman in short right field? Does it matter that he's not stationed on or really near the infield (he's well beyond the dirt)? I'd guess no, since the rule does not specify where the infielder need be standing, but I'm just curious since we see so much shifting these days. OBR please.
My question is simple - I know that when the first throw by an infielder goes out of play, the award is two bases from the time of pitch (assuming the B.R. and other runners didn't advance one base when the throw was made), but what if the throw is made by a shifted second baseman in short right field? Does it matter that he's not stationed on or really near the infield (he's well beyond the dirt)? I'd guess no, since the rule does not specify where the infielder need be standing, but I'm just curious since we see so much shifting these days. OBR please.
Share this post
Link to post
Share on other sites