Little League Major Softball tournament. Ball is dead. Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home. Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field. Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike. Pitcher toes the rubber. Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home. (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher. The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate. The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand. The catcher is unable to catch the ball. No runners attempt to advance. Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher. What's your ruling?
Tonight I had R2 going to third on a hit ball. R2 slides into 3rd.. As the 3rd base man fakes a tag. 3rd base did not have the ball. But in my opinion R2 was going to slide anyways because his coach was yelling down down down.. BUT Little League Definition of Obstruction is :
“OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. A fake tag is considered obstruction. (NOTE: Obstruction shall be called on a defensive player who blocks off a base, base line or home plate from a base runner while not in possession of the ball.)”
SO should I have called it and gave him home plate?
10U (LL minors) game. 0 out, pitched ball gets away from F2. R1 tries to advance. Throw from F2 to F6 at the bag takes F6 two steps from second toward first. R1, slides way early and into F6, who is crouching to field the throw. R1 is stopped well short of the bag upon making contact with F6. The ball arrives about the same time as the runner (maybe a bit later). F6 digs the ball in the dirt (nice play) and tags R1 lying next to him.
It could easily be argued that R1 would never have made it to the bag, had there been no contact with F6, because he started his slide so far away (these are small kids and don't slide far). It appeared that R1 initiated his slide because he was taught always to slide when there was a chance of a collision at a bag/plate. He absolutely should have run around the fielder, but he chose to slide instead.
What's your call?
What's your call if R1 dances around F6 but still gets tagged before reaching second?
As a spectator, I thought it might be OBS. But I'm not sure if F6 is absolved of OBS because the throw took him into R1's path. But F6 could have more easily caught the throw if he'd taken a step in toward F2, catching the ball at his knees on the fly instead of in the dirt. In my mind it seems wrong to absolve OBS because of a poor throw on the part of the defense. And I'm not sure how to think about the "he wouldn't have made it to the base with that slide anyway" argument.
Gals and guys, I hope you all are doing well. This is going to be my first season umpiring behind the plate and I was hoping you all could give me some tips. I can't help but feel butterflies in my stomach at the thought of getting back there, but I've loved it since I was young. Thank you all.