Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Gil

MLB Ejections 134-35 - Angel Hernandez (1-2; DET x2)

Recommended Posts

HP Umpire Angel Hernandez ejected Tigers 2B Ian Kinsler and Manager Brad Ausmus (strike one call; QOCY) in the top of the 5th inning of the Tigers-Rangers game. With one out and none on, Kinsler took a 0-0 fastball from Rangers pitcher Martin Perez for a called first strike. Replays indicate the...

[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]

View the full article

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

I was listening when this happened.  The radio guys (one that I particularly like) never says anything about umpires, and he was hot about Angel last night and I thought, hmmm, this will be interesting to see tomorrow.  He was saying he was calling pitches low and 8" outside.  That made me say, wait a minute ...something is wrong here....

It was wrong ....the commentary was wrong...... while borderline (Kinsler strike here) ...it's a strike (would love to see the side view) ....   I guess it just goes to show you that all announcers are homers ....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Watched it on my dvr last night...ball caught the hollow of the knee at the front edge of the plate. Rangers broadcast showed multiple angles of the whole thing. Kinsler initiated after the strike by asking Angel, "What's your problem with me?" After the ball, Kinsler did turn towards Angel and say something, but I was unable to read his lips. After that it got R rated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I kept waiting for Kinsler's bat to contact Hernandez with the way he was pointing with it in their "up close" discussion.  Just out of curiosity, what would have been the punishment in that case with a bat striking the umpire in these circumstances?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, StrikeToWin said:

I kept waiting for Kinsler's bat to contact Hernandez with the way he was pointing with it in their "up close" discussion.  Just out of curiosity, what would have been the punishment in that case with a bat striking the umpire in these circumstances?

Up to the league I suppose. I assume it would get the same "that's contact" response and point as any other bump. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×